EastofSilicon Tools and workflows from the Chinese internet
Hardware

Plaud One shows where AI gadgets fit in the workflow

16 min read 3,568 words geekparkifanrwoshipm

Plaud One points to a more specific role for AI hardware: capture the context that normally disappears before anyone opens a laptop. According to geekpark, it is an AI recording earbud with a charging case that includes an eSIM and a 4G module, and it can connect directly to networks in more than 80 countries and regions without a carrier contract. woshipm says the earbuds can record phone calls, while the case can record face-to-face conversations and upload content to the cloud when a phone is not nearby.

That is the pattern to watch.

The device is not trying to replace the phone or the general-purpose app. It adds a missing workflow layer before writing starts: the meeting, the call, the hallway exchange. Apple's AirPods show the adjacent direction. woshipm notes that Apple launched in-person real-time translation for AirPods in September 2025, with current instructions requiring users to download languages first. AI gadgets matter when they reduce lost context, expose output for checking, or give software a physical endpoint.

Capture is becoming a separate workflow job

Plaud One makes capture the first job in the AI workflow, before a prompt window appears. According to geekpark, the product is an AI recording earbud with a charging case that includes an eSIM and a 4G module. woshipm adds the practical split: the earbud can record phone calls, while the case can record face-to-face conversations and upload content to the cloud when the phone is not nearby.

AI wearables move from translation to context capture and review surfaces
  1. 2017Google introduces Pixel Buds real-time translation
  2. 2024Meta previews visual Q&A, translation, reminders and parking memory
  3. July this yearMeta connects finger writing to AI input for glasses
  4. August 27Plaud releases Plaud One earphones
  5. September 2025Apple launches in-person real-time translation for AirPods
  6. September 2025Meta Ray-Ban Display begins selling in some U.S. stores

That matters because the missing input is often the meeting. It can be the call or the hallway exchange. Plaud One can connect directly to networks in more than 80 countries and regions without a carrier contract, according to geekpark, so availability becomes part of the workflow design rather than an afterthought.

Other devices are moving into the same capture layer from different angles. woshipm reports that Apple launched in-person real-time translation for AirPods in September 2025, with languages downloaded first and processing handled locally by a compatible iPhone before audio is sent to the earphones. Meta's 2024 announcements introduced or previewed visual question answering. They also introduced or previewed translation. The same announcements covered reminders, plus remembering a parking location.

The common idea is simple: collect context while the user is still living the moment.

Health wearables show the same pattern without a microphone-first frame. Apple introduced hypertension risk notifications in September 2025 using optical heart-rate sensor data over a 30-day observation period, supported on compatible older models including Series 9 and Ultra 2. Oura added continuable conversation history to its app in June 2026, so earlier questions become reusable context.

The hard questions follow the capture surface. They include consent to being recorded, export rights for the file, deletion, and market access to the networked version. Those questions decide whether capture becomes useful infrastructure or another device people leave in a case.

Screens still matter when AI output needs inspection

AI output is easiest to trust when it has a place to be inspected. That is why the foldable iPhone rumors matter less as hardware gossip than as workflow evidence. According to ifanr, Mark Gurman disclosed in Power On that Apple is preparing its first foldable iPhone, expected this autumn, with a book-style structure similar to Samsung's Galaxy Z Fold series. Ming-Chi Kuo's earlier sizing put the outer display at about 5.5 inches and the inner display at about 7.8 inches, with a ratio close to 4:3.

That is a review surface, not just a bigger phone.

The software clues point the same way. ifanr reported that Apple has prepared an inner-screen app layout close to an iPad layout, and that the unfolded experience is expected to be close to an iPad mini. After WWDC this year, iOS 27 was found to include many wide-screen interfaces, including Weather and Music. Xcode 27 included foldState and angleDegrees, while MobileGestalt private APIs added a parameter for the number of logical screens on a device.

Android is moving from the other side. At Google I/O 2025, Google said Android 16 would push apps toward a more thorough adaptive stage, gradually reducing restrictions on fixed orientation and fixed size when minimum width exceeds 600dp. The shared premise is plain: generated text needs room for checking. Summaries need that room too. So do edits and agents.

Meta's Ray-Ban Display shows the opposite answer. According to woshipm, it began selling in some U.S. stores in September 2025. It can show captions in the lenses. It can also show messages there. Walking navigation appears there as well. Its wristband reads wrist muscle signals for small finger movements such as selection and scrolling. In July this year, Meta connected finger writing to AI, so questions written on a surface could reach the glasses without a spoken wake word.

The contradiction is the point. Foldables ask users to unfold a large inspection surface; glasses break inspection into small surfaces worn around the body. Yet ifanr cites Bloomberg and Gurman-cited data putting foldables at about 1.6% of global smartphone shipments in 2025, while the foldable iPhone price may exceed $2000. Big screens still matter, but they are becoming a premium answer to one specific problem: checking AI output before it enters the workflow.

Action endpoints make generated work physical

Generated output becomes more useful when it has somewhere to go besides a chat window. Microduck is the cleanest example in this batch: according to geekpark, Pollen Robotics opened preorders on August 27 for a 25-centimeter bipedal robotic duck that weighs less than 800 grams, costs $399, and is scheduled to ship before Christmas.

Its job is physical follow-through. Microduck can walk, squat, stand up, recover after being pushed over, and skate on detachable roller-skate bases. Its articulated beak can pick up small objects such as socks or markers from the floor. The robot ships with 7 behavior policies, each an independent action model trained through reinforcement learning, plus accessories including a small ball, a laser pointer for camera tracking, and NFC tags for preset behavior commands.

That makes the software boundary matter.

Microduck's SDK, MuJoCo simulation environment, and full reinforcement-learning training pipeline are open source under Apache 2.0, according to geekpark. Users can retrain factory-installed actions or train a new behavior from scratch, then deploy it back to the physical robot. But Pollen Robotics has stated that the hardware design and circuit schematics will not be open sourced. The result is open behavior training on closed physical design.

The same split shows up elsewhere. Autonomous Lamp turns AI into posture. It also gives that AI attention and sound through a wide-angle camera, face tracking, 5 positional-feedback servos, an 8-core ARM64 processor, 6GB of memory, a microphone array, and stereo speakers. It weighs 7 kilograms, is priced at $499, shows a crossed-out price of $999, and is scheduled to ship on September 24. geekpark says Autonomous.ai describes Autonomous OS as an open-source Android for robotics that can run on any robot.

CodeeBot and FoloToy AI Passport push the endpoint idea into teaching and identity. CodeeBot is a screenless programming block set with magnetic code blocks, motors, sensors, structural parts, offline compilation, and an embedded GPT voice tutor, with pricing from $299 to $799 and expansion parts starting at $29. FoloToy AI Passport is smaller: an open hardware badge with an ESP32 chip, a screen, Bluetooth, profile syncing through a WeChat mini program, and a built-in mini game. Its TRAE co-branded version is priced at $39.99.

Workflow roles for recent AI hardware and form-factor moves

Plaud OneAirPods camera system / Apple device contextMeta Ray-Ban DisplayFoldable iPhoneMicroduckCodeeBot
Workflow job addedCaptures calls and face-to-face conversations before the user typesAdds visual and ambient context to existing earphones and Apple devicesGives AI and notifications an in-lens review surface plus wrist inputExpands the phone into an iPad-like review surfaceTurns trained actions into movement on a physical robotTurns programming blocks and GPT tutoring into physical motors and sensors
Main input or sensing pathAI recording earbud plus charging case; case has an eSIM and a 4G moduleLeft and right AirPods synchronously capture RGB still images; system also processes ambient speech, changes in surrounding sound, posture, and head rotation informationLenses show captions, messages, and walking navigation; companion wristband uses wrist muscle signals to recognize small finger movementsBook-style folding structure; Xcode 27 included foldState and angleDegrees parametersCamera, lidar, two inertial units, microphone and speakerMagnetic code blocks, motors, sensors, structural parts, offline compilation, embedded GPT voice tutor
Independence from a phone or cloudCan connect directly to networks in more than 80 countries and regions without a carrier contract; case can upload content to the cloud when a phone is not nearbyAccessorySensorManager contains peripheral inference that can determine on the device side whether a person exists in an imagenot coverednot coveredOpen Duck Mini robots ran Google's Gemma 4 model on a Raspberry Pi 5 and a Jetson Orin Nano for on-device voice inference without connecting to the cloudOffline compilation is covered; cloud dependence not covered
Output or review surfacenot coveredSiri saving a recognized book title is shown in the extracted promotional videoCaptions, messages, and walking navigation in the lensesInner screen expected to be close to an iPad mini; app layout close to an iPad layoutPhysical bipedal robot body; can walk, squat and stand up, recover after being pushed over, skate, and pick up small objectsPhysical block set with motors, sensors, and structural parts
Action or embodiment endpointRecording and uploading content to the cloudVisual Intelligence recognizing a book title and Siri saving itSelection and scrolling via wrist muscle signalsAdaptive app layouts across folding statesUsers can retrain factory-installed actions or train a new behavior from scratch and deploy it back to the physical robotProgramming blocks compile offline into behavior for motors and sensors
Openness or developer surfacenot coverednot coverednot coveredAndroid 16 would gradually reduce developers' restrictions on app windows when a device's minimum width reaches more than 600dpSoftware stack is open source under the Apache 2.0 license, including SDK, MuJoCo simulation environment, and full reinforcement-learning training pipeline; hardware design and circuit schematics will not be open sourcednot covered
Price or commercial status$249.99; began presales on August 27; scheduled to start shipping at the end of Septembernot disclosed in sourcesBegan selling in some U.S. stores in September 2025; price not disclosed in sourcesPrice is expected to possibly exceed $2000$399; preorders opened on August 27; scheduled to ship before ChristmasPricing ranges from an early-bird $299 to a flagship kit at $799, with expansion parts starting at $29
Key limitation or caveatSome Plaud One capabilities still need to wait for updatesIf head movement is too intense or a lens is blocked, the corresponding AirPods camera image is discardedAndroid Central's Michael Hicks found Ray-Ban Meta second-generation glasses consumed nearly 20% battery per hour when music, video, and AI were heavily mixedGlobal foldable phone shipments will account for only about 1.6% of total smartphone shipments in 2025Does not have voice interaction and cannot speak, but it has a microphone and speakernot covered

Cheap entry points and expensive flagships serve different jobs

The price spread around AI hardware looks contradictory only if every device is treated as the same kind of computer. Plaud One sits at $249.99. According to geekpark, presales began on August 27, with shipping scheduled for the end of September. Its job is narrow: record through an earbud, then move that audio through a charging case with an eSIM and a 4G module. That is an entry point into a subscription workflow, not a flagship screen.

Plaud already has proof that cheap capture hardware can become recurring software use. Geekpark says the company has shipped more than 1 million card recorders and recording pins combined, with more than half of its users converted to paid subscriptions. The device lowers the moment of capture; the business is built after capture.

That is why the low end is crowded with products that look almost experimental. Hugging Face's Microduck costs $399. It comes in four colors, with shipping scheduled before Christmas. The TRAE co-branded FoloToy AI Passport is $39.99. CodeeBot runs from an early-bird $299 to a flagship kit at $799, with expansion parts starting at $29. These are not all trying to replace the phone. They seed usage habits. They also draw accessory demand and developer attention.

The expensive end has a different burden. Ifanr cites Gurman-cited and Bloomberg-cited data showing foldable phones at about 1.6% of global smartphone shipments in 2025. Bloomberg also disclosed that China contributed more than half of global foldable phone shipments last year, with sales exceeding 10 million units. A foldable iPhone expected to exceed $2000 is therefore not a mass capture tool.

It is a premium review surface.

That distinction matters for Apple. A foldable iPhone can justify itself when AI output needs room for reading. It also needs room for comparison and correction. Plaud One just needs to be present before the user starts typing. A $249.99 recorder and a more than $2000 foldable are not fighting for the same workflow slot.

Choose the device by the workflow gap it fills

  • You lose useful context before you ever open a laptop or phone app: meetings, calls, ambient observations, or things you see while moving. Use a capture-first device. Plaud One is positioned for recording phone calls and face-to-face conversations, with a charging case that has built-in mobile network connectivity for uploading content to the cloud when a phone is not nearby. The source material also describes Apple's camera-enabled AirPods work as a way to recognize a book title and save it with Siri, and describes future AirPods-style sensing that processes ambient speech, surrounding sound changes, posture, and head rotation at the same time.
  • You need AI help without speaking a wake word or pulling out a screen. Use a wearable input surface rather than a chatbot box. Meta connected finger writing to AI in July this year, allowing users to write questions on a surface for the glasses to receive input without speaking a wake word. Meta Ray-Ban Display's companion wristband also uses wrist muscle signals to recognize small finger movements for selection and scrolling.
  • Your problem is not capture, but review: AI output needs to be seen, corrected, navigated, or compared in context. Prefer a display-bearing device or a larger adaptive screen. Meta Ray-Ban Display can show captions, messages, and walking navigation in the lenses. The foldable iPhone reporting describes a book-style folding structure similar to Samsung's Galaxy Z Fold series, with a possible inner screen of about 7.8 inches and an outer screen of about 5.5 inches; the claimed value is closer to an iPad mini-like review surface than to a new AI sensor.
  • You want generated code, trained policies, or AI actions to become physical behavior. Use a robot or robotics kit. Microduck comes preinstalled with 7 behavior policies, and users can retrain its factory-installed actions or train a new behavior from scratch and deploy it back to the physical robot. CodeeBot is a screenless programming block set with magnetic code blocks, motors, sensors, structural parts, offline compilation, and an embedded GPT voice tutor.
  • You mainly want a general-purpose AI companion that talks back. Do not assume every AI gadget serves that job. Microduck does not have voice interaction and cannot speak, although it has a microphone and speaker. Its stronger fit is physical experimentation: walking, squatting, standing up, recovering after being pushed over, skating with detachable roller-skate bases, and picking up small objects such as socks or markers from the floor.

The adoption test is verification cost

Adoption starts with a small audit, not a product category. Name the missing step first: capture before writing. In other cases, the gap is review before approval or execution after a model produces an action. Plaud One fits the capture side because, according to geekpark, it can connect directly to networks in more than 80 countries and regions without a carrier contract. That matters only if the workflow really breaks when a phone is absent. It also matters when the phone is blocked or too slow to start.

Then price the verification work.

A recorder that begins presales on August 27 at $249.99 and ships at the end of September is not finished just because the hardware exists. Woshipm notes that some Plaud One capabilities still need updates, so a team should ask which promised steps are usable now and which ones sit behind later software. Plaud has shipped more than 1 million card recorders and recording pins combined, and more than half of its users have converted to paid subscriptions, according to geekpark. That makes subscription cost part of the workflow test, not an afterthought.

Processing location is the next gate. Woshipm points out that Google introduced Pixel Buds real-time translation in 2017, but that feature needed a Pixel phone. Apple's current AirPods in-person translation requires downloaded languages first, and processing happens locally on a compatible iPhone before audio is sent to the earphones. The practical question is simple: where does the work run during the meeting? Where does it run during the call? Where does translation run?

Battery drain and openness decide whether outputs should touch tools or deployments. Woshipm cites Ray-Ban Meta second-generation glasses raising typical-use battery life from 4 hours to 8 hours in September 2025, while Android Central's Michael Hicks found nearly 20% battery use per hour under heavy mixed use. For physical execution, geekpark reports Microduck can retrain actions and deploy them back to the robot, but its hardware schematics are not open sourced. Connect generated outputs only after those limits are clear.

Watch the hardware trade-offs, not the assistant label. A foldable used as a review surface has to justify its pocket cost: ifanr says supply-chain information points to Apple's foldable iPhone at about 4.5mm unfolded and about 9 to 9.5mm folded, close to the Galaxy Z Fold 7 at 4.2mm and 8.9mm.

The open question is what that space replaces in your day.

Mark Gurman previously reported black and white test versions. He also reported a C2 modem. He reported no physical SIM slot. Other leaks point to four cameras, while the first model may skip telephoto. Ming-Chi Kuo said Apple planned side-button Touch ID to save internal space. Foldables were about 1.6% of global smartphone shipments in 2025, and Bloomberg put China above half of shipments last year, with sales exceeding 10 million units. Treat that as a reminder: buy only when the device removes a step you already repeat. That might be capture or review; it might be approval or execution.

For readers outside China

  • Availability: Plaud One can connect directly to networks in more than 80 countries and regions without a carrier contract, began presales on August 27, and is scheduled to start shipping at the end of September; another source says it is expected to ship in the fourth quarter of this year. Microduck opened preorders on August 27 and is scheduled to ship before Christmas. Autonomous Lamp is scheduled to ship on September 24. Meta Ray-Ban Display began selling in some U.S. stores in September 2025. Availability outside those stated channels is not disclosed in sources.
  • Pricing: Microduck is priced at $399. Plaud One is priced at $249.99. Autonomous Lamp is priced at $499 and has a crossed-out price of $999. CodeeBot pricing ranges from an early-bird $299 to a flagship kit at $799, with expansion parts starting at $29. The TRAE co-branded version of FoloToy AI Passport is priced at $39.99. The foldable iPhone's price is expected to possibly exceed $2000, but that is a reported expectation rather than a released price.
  • Closest Western equivalents: Plaud One: closest to an always-available AI recorder, with some overlap with AirPods-style translation and phone-adjacent audio capture.; Camera-enabled AirPods concepts and Guangfan AI full-sensory earphones: closest to Humane AI Pin's attempt to add visual input for AI using a camera, but integrated into earphones rather than a chest-worn pin.; Meta Ray-Ban Display: closest to smart glasses that add a small review surface for captions, messages, walking navigation, and AI input through finger or wrist gestures.; Microduck: closest to an affordable desktop-scale reinforcement-learning robot rather than a voice assistant or toy speaker.; CodeeBot: closest to a screenless educational robotics and programming kit with physical code blocks and a GPT voice tutor.
  • Data residency: The sources describe several different processing patterns but do not give full data-residency policies. Plaud One's case can upload content to the cloud when a phone is not nearby. At Google I/O in June, two Open Duck Mini robots ran Google's Gemma 4 model on a Raspberry Pi 5 and a Jetson Orin Nano for on-device voice inference without connecting to the cloud. AirPods in-person real-time translation is processed locally by a compatible iPhone and then sent to the earphones. Apple-related extracted code also references on-device peripheral inference that can determine whether a person exists in an image. Where recordings, images, profiles, or robot training data are stored by default is not disclosed in sources.

Sources

The evidence: 94 facts from 6 Chinese articles

Each line below was extracted from the article it sits under, in Chinese, before any of this was written. The writing is done from these and never from the source prose - that separation is structural, not a promise. How we work.

geekpark399 美元的小黄鸭,藏着 Hugging Face 最大的野心

  • Pollen Robotics, a Hugging Face company, opened preorders for Microduck on August 27.
  • Microduck is a 25-centimeter-tall bipedal robotic duck that weighs less than 800 grams.
  • Microduck is available in four colors, costs $399, and is scheduled to ship before Christmas.
  • Microduck can walk, squat and stand up, recover after being pushed over, and skate using detachable roller-skate bases.
  • Microduck has an articulated beak that can pick up small objects such as socks or markers from the floor.
  • Microduck does not have voice interaction and cannot speak, but it has a microphone and speaker.
  • Each Microduck generates its own unique voice identity after initial setup.
  • Microduck ships with a robot body, one battery, one USB-C cable, and one game controller.
  • Microduck comes preinstalled with 7 behavior policies, each of which is an independent action model trained through reinforcement learning.
  • Microduck's accessories include a small ball, a laser pointer for camera tracking, and NFC tags that can trigger preset behavior commands.
  • Users can retrain Microduck's factory-installed actions or train a new behavior from scratch and deploy it back to the physical robot.
  • Microduck's predecessor was Open Duck Mini, an open-source project initiated by Pollen Robotics research and development engineer Antoine Pirrone.
  • Open Duck Mini was inspired by the BDX robot from Disney's Galactic Starcruiser experience.
  • Open Duck Mini's bill of materials cost was about $400, assuming the user had access to a printer and soldering iron.
  • Open Duck Mini accumulated more than 2600 stars on GitHub.
  • At Google I/O in June, two Open Duck Mini robots ran Google's Gemma 4 model on a Raspberry Pi 5 and a Jetson Orin Nano for on-device voice inference without connecting to the cloud.
  • Microduck's 7 factory-installed behavior policies were trained in the MuJoCo physics simulator and run on the physical robot at 50 Hz.
  • Microduck's software stack is open source under the Apache 2.0 license, including the SDK, MuJoCo simulation environment, and full reinforcement-learning training pipeline.
  • Pollen Robotics has stated that Microduck's hardware design and circuit schematics will not be open sourced.
  • Hugging Face CEO Clem Delangue described Microduck on X as a $399 open-source robot that users can teach new tricks with reinforcement learning.

geekpark造物 100 #04|AI 为爱做「鸭」、PLAUD 又推新作、字节 TRAE 造了个数字工牌

  • Hugging Face released the open-source Microduck robot on August 27 and opened preorders the same day.
  • The Hugging Face Microduck robot is 25 centimeters tall and weighs 800 grams.
  • The Hugging Face Microduck robot has 15 motors, a camera, lidar, and two inertial units.
  • The Hugging Face Microduck robot is priced at $399, and Hugging Face says it will ship before Christmas.
  • Plaud One is an AI recording earbud product with a charging case that includes an eSIM and a 4G module.
  • Plaud One can connect directly to networks in more than 80 countries and regions without a carrier contract.
  • Plaud One is priced at $249.99, began presales on August 27, and is scheduled to start shipping at the end of September.
  • Plaud has shipped more than 1 million card recorders and recording pins combined, and more than half of its users have converted to paid subscriptions.
  • Autonomous Lamp has a wide-angle camera, face tracking, 5 positional-feedback servos, an 8-core ARM64 processor, 6GB of memory, a microphone array, and stereo speakers.
  • Autonomous Lamp weighs 7 kilograms, is priced at $499, has a crossed-out price of $999, and is scheduled to ship on September 24.
  • CodeeBot is a screenless programming block set with magnetic code blocks, motors, sensors, structural parts, offline compilation, and an embedded GPT voice tutor.
  • CodeeBot pricing ranges from an early-bird $299 to a flagship kit at $799, with expansion parts starting at $29.
  • CodeeBot has raised $78,000 from 160 backers, nearly 7 times its crowdfunding goal.
  • FoloToy AI Passport is an open hardware badge with an ESP32 chip, a screen, Bluetooth, a WeChat mini program for syncing a profile photo and self-introduction, and a built-in mini game.
  • The TRAE co-branded version of FoloToy AI Passport is priced at $39.99.
  • ATACH is a surfboard that can be split into three sections, assembled with tool-free buckles in one minute, and packed into a backpack.
  • ATACH launched on Kickstarter on July 7, ended on August 21, and raised $17,758 from 42 backers, reaching 178% of its goal.

ifanr100 万像素的摄像头,为什么是苹果 AI 最重要的零件?|硬哲学

  • MacRumors extracted an Apple promotional video from macOS Tahoe 26.7 RC showing a user wearing AirPods, picking up a book, Visual Intelligence recognizing the book title, and Siri saving it.
  • The product code shown in the extracted Apple promotional video is B790.
  • The camera on the AirPods referenced in the extracted system code has 1 million pixels.
  • The extracted code shows that the AirPods camera system has at least two operating states.
  • In active mode, the AirPods camera can collect 640x640 images and output up to 1024x1024 images after processing.
  • In passive mode, the AirPods camera collects 320x320 images and outputs 320x320 or 512x512 images.
  • The extracted code shows that the left and right AirPods can synchronously capture RGB still images, align the two views using the same Frame ID, and continuously collect images at a certain frequency for Visual Intelligence processing.
  • The system processes ambient speech, changes in surrounding sound, posture, and head rotation information at the same time.
  • The two AirPods cameras require calibration with each other, and the cameras also require calibration with motion sensors.
  • If head movement is too intense or a lens is blocked, the corresponding AirPods camera image is discarded.
  • AccessorySensorManager contains code related to peripheral inference that can determine on the device side whether a person exists in an image.
  • Guangfan AI full-sensory earphones launched this year with cameras in both the left and right earphones and use two 2 million-pixel fixed-focus cameras.
  • The core use of the Guangfan AI full-sensory earphones' cameras is scene AI recognition rather than photography.
  • Guangfan put 4G eSIM and GPS into the earphone case to reduce the device's dependence on a phone.
  • Humane AI Pin previously attempted to add visual input for AI using a camera.

ifanr折叠 iPhone 细节曝光,苹果想折叠的不只是屏幕

  • Mark Gurman disclosed in his Power On column that Apple is preparing its first foldable iPhone and is expected to release it this autumn.
  • Apple released AirPods in 2016.
  • Apple released a redesigned iPad Pro in 2018.
  • Apple released the Apple Watch Ultra in 2022.
  • Bloomberg-cited data says global foldable phone shipments will account for only about 1.6% of total smartphone shipments in 2025.
  • Around 2010, 16:9 became the mainstream screen aspect ratio for smartphones.
  • The LG G6 released in 2017 used an 18:9 screen aspect ratio.
  • The Samsung Galaxy S8 used a screen aspect ratio close to 18.5:9.
  • At Google I/O 2025, Google announced that Android 16 would further push apps toward a more thorough adaptive stage.
  • Google said Android 16 would gradually reduce developers' restrictions on app windows when a device's minimum width reaches more than 600dp, including restrictions on fixed orientation, fixed size, and screen aspect ratio.
  • Google summarized Android 16's adaptive-app change as "Goodbye Mobile Only, Hello Adaptive."

ifanr折叠 iPhone 最全爆料汇总:用过的都说好,但有两个大缺点

  • Mark Gurman said he had spoken with several people who had actually used the foldable iPhone.
  • Ming-Chi Kuo previously gave the foldable iPhone's screen sizes as about 5.5 inches for the outer display and about 7.8 inches for the inner display.
  • After WWDC this year, iOS 27 was found to have added many landscape interfaces, including dedicated horizontal layouts for system apps such as Weather and Music.
  • Xcode 27 included parameters such as foldState and angleDegrees that are directly related to folding state and hinge angle.
  • MobileGestalt private APIs added a new parameter for querying the number of logical screens on a device.
  • Ming-Chi Kuo said Apple's foldable iPhone design would use a special metal support structure to disperse stress caused by screen bending.
  • The Galaxy Z Fold 7 is 4.2mm thick when unfolded and 8.9mm thick when folded.
  • Mark Gurman previously disclosed that Apple had tested black and white versions of the foldable iPhone and planned to use its second-generation self-developed C2 modem while completely removing the physical SIM card slot.
  • Ming-Chi Kuo previously said Apple planned to abandon the Face ID TrueDepth module for the foldable iPhone and integrate Touch ID into the side power button to save internal space.
  • Gurman-cited data shows foldable phones accounted for about 1.6% of global smartphone shipments in 2025.
  • Bloomberg disclosed that China contributed more than half of global foldable phone shipments last year, with sales exceeding 10 million units.

woshipmPlaud发布AI耳机:穿戴设备讲了这么多年,这次进步在哪?

  • Plaud released the Plaud One earphones on August 27.
  • Plaud One can record phone calls, and its charging case can record face-to-face conversations.
  • Plaud One's charging case has built-in mobile network connectivity for uploading content to the cloud when a phone is not nearby.
  • Plaud One is expected to ship in the fourth quarter of this year.
  • Some Plaud One capabilities still need to wait for updates.
  • Google introduced real-time translation for Pixel Buds in 2017.
  • The 2017 Pixel Buds real-time translation feature needed to be used with a Pixel phone.
  • Apple launched in-person real-time translation for AirPods in September 2025.
  • Apple's current AirPods in-person real-time translation instructions require users to download languages first.
  • AirPods in-person real-time translation is processed locally by a compatible iPhone and then sent to the earphones.
  • Meta's 2024 announcements introduced or previewed capabilities including visual question answering, translation, reminders, and remembering a parking location.
  • Ray-Ban Meta second-generation glasses raised the official typical-use battery life ceiling from 4 hours to 8 hours in September 2025.
  • Android Central's Michael Hicks found in a review that Ray-Ban Meta second-generation glasses consumed nearly 20% battery per hour when music, video, and AI were heavily mixed.
  • Meta Ray-Ban Display began selling in some U.S. stores in September 2025.
  • Meta Ray-Ban Display can show captions, messages, and walking navigation in the lenses.
  • Meta Ray-Ban Display's companion wristband uses wrist muscle signals to recognize small finger movements for selection and scrolling.
  • Meta connected finger writing to AI in July this year, allowing users to write questions on a surface for the glasses to receive input without speaking a wake word.
  • Apple introduced hypertension risk notifications in September 2025 using optical heart-rate sensor data over a 30-day observation period.
  • Apple's hypertension risk notifications are supported on compatible older models including Series 9 and Ultra 2.
  • Oura added continuable conversation history to its app in June 2026, allowing users to return to previous conversations and continue asking questions.