
The iPhone Duo puts iOS 27 split-screen at the center of its foldable pitch, treating the unfolded display as a place for active work rather than enlarged phone content. According to geekpark, iOS 27 can run two apps side by side and open two windows from the same app. ifanr says the inner screen keeps the Today View on the left, while the icons, status bar, and dock stay on the right. That arrangement preserves a phone-like control side even when the display opens wider.
The device can show two apps at once, or three with picture-in-picture, ifanr reports. Its nano-texture screen, precision hinge, dual-battery architecture, and custom vapor chamber matter only if this layout reduces real workflow friction.
The right-side layout treats the inner screen like a phone
On the unfolded iPhone Duo, iOS 27 divides the inner display by role rather than treating it as a blank, enlarged iPhone. According to ifanr, the widget-based Today View occupies the left half, while the familiar home-screen icons, Dock, and status bar stay on the right. The arrangement preserves the controls users already associate with an iPhone home screen. The added panel becomes a companion space instead of displacing the phone's centre of gravity.
- end of AugustTim Cook stepped down as Apple CEO
- September 1John Ternus took over as Apple CEO
- September 10Apple introduced the iPhone Duo at its launch event
- October 16iPhone Duo pre-orders opened
- October 23iPhone Duo went on sale
That distinction matters more than screen size alone.
A larger display can fit more content, yet it can also make basic navigation feel newly located and therefore slower to reach. Keeping the Dock and status controls on the right gives the unfolded device a stable phone-first side: users return to apps and system controls where iOS has trained them to look. The left side is reserved for glanceable widgets and information. ifanr's description suggests that the Duo is trying to make the expanded screen legible at a glance, with an established control area beside a secondary surface.
This layout also frames the Duo's software ambition. woshipm lists full iOS 27 support for split-screen, hover mode, and multitasking alongside the precision hinge, nano-texture screen, dual-battery architecture, and custom vapor chamber. Those hardware features enable the folding form, but they do not by themselves explain how a person finds work after opening it.
The right-side layout supplies that answer: the inner screen still begins as an iPhone, then makes room for more activity around it. That is a different proposition from simply putting iOS on a larger panel.
Two windows are the practical limit at launch
The documented multitasking model begins with a clear boundary. According to geekpark, iOS 27 adds iPhone split-screen multitasking that lets two apps run side by side. It also permits two windows from the same app to be open at once. Those are distinct use cases: one keeps separate apps visible, while the other keeps separate views or tasks from a single app available together.
ifanr describes the maximum visible app count differently when picture-in-picture is present. The iPhone Duo can have two apps open simultaneously, or three when a picture-in-picture layer is included. That does not turn picture-in-picture into a third equal-size working window. The documented base arrangement remains two principal panes, with video able to float above them.
woshipm places these features within full iOS 27 support for split-screen, hover mode, and multitasking. It also lists the nano-texture screen, precision hinge, dual-battery architecture, and custom vapor chamber. Those hardware details may support the device's broader positioning, but they do not add documented window capacity. "Multitasking" and "hover mode" describe supported capabilities; they do not by themselves establish a desktop-style system with an unspecified number of freely managed windows.
Apple Pencil support is also separate from the multitasking limit. 36kr says Apple plans to enable Apple Pencil support later this year, while geekpark specifies that the USB-C Apple Pencil is planned for both iPhone Duo displays later this year.
Input support can change how a person works within a pane. It does not document more main panes.
For launch-era multitasking claims, the defensible model is two active primary windows: app beside app, or window beside window from the same app. Picture-in-picture can raise the visible count to three, but as an overlay rather than evidence of a complete multi-window workspace.
Foldable workflow features and trade-offs across Apple's lineup and Xiaomi's rival
| iPhone Duo | Xiaomi 18 Fold | iPhone 18 Pro Max | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Form factor | Foldable smartphone | Foldable smartphone | not covered |
| Inner display | 7.6-inch internal display when unfolded | 7.58-inch inner display | not covered |
| Outer display | 5.4-inch external display | 5.38-inch outer display | not covered |
| Two-app workflow | iOS 27 allows two apps side by side and two windows of the same app | not covered | not covered |
| Picture-in-picture capacity | Can open two apps simultaneously, or three when picture-in-picture is included | not covered | not covered |
| Large-screen control layout | Today View is on the left; icons, status bar, and dock remain on the right | not covered | not covered |
| Saved two-app workflows | not covered | not covered | not covered |
| Hover or tent use | Supports hover mode; tent-shaped placement can activate full StandBy mode | not covered | not covered |
| Stylus support | USB-C Apple Pencil support will be added later in 2026 on both displays | not covered | not covered |
| China starting price | 15,999 yuan | 10,999 yuan | 10,999 yuan |
| Carrier setup | Supports only eSIM | not covered | not covered |
| Regional AI limitation documented in sources | not covered | not covered | Apple Reference Image is unavailable in the European Union and mainland China |
Persistent work needs proof from the apps themselves
iOS 27 supplies the system-level starting point: iPhone Duo can place two apps side by side, and it can open two windows from the same app. According to ifanr, picture-in-picture can remain present alongside those two apps. That describes available slots, not dependable work.
The verification test belongs inside each app.

A document app should keep its file, cursor position, and unsaved changes intact while a user moves between two windows or changes from the external display to the internal display. A messaging or reference app should preserve the conversation, page, or selection that supports the work beside it. The key question is not simply whether both panes remain visible. It is whether reopening, resizing, or folding the device breaks the thread of attention.
Keyboard use raises the same standard. An app may technically share the screen yet still interrupt editing when focus shifts between panes, when a cursor disappears, or when a document reloads after the display state changes. Those failures would turn a nominally persistent arrangement into repeated setup work. Split-screen support from iOS 27 therefore needs confirmation from the third-party apps people actually use.
Apple Pencil support is another future check rather than proof of present continuity. geekpark says Apple plans USB-C Apple Pencil support on both iPhone Duo displays later in 2026; ifanr reports the same later-2026 timing. When it arrives, note-taking, markup, and drawing apps will need to show that a tool change does not disrupt the active document or its place across the internal and external displays.
Weight and eSIM turn hardware details into work constraints
At 254 g and 11.3 mm when folded, the iPhone Duo asks users to carry a substantial device before it can earn its productivity case. A saved two-app setup may reduce repeated taps, but it does not reduce the physical load of holding, pocketing, or opening the phone.
That matters most during prolonged one-handed use.
The hardware does offer practical counterweights. Touch ID sits in the side button, according to 36kr, which keeps authentication on an exterior control rather than requiring the inner display to be opened. ifanr reports that Apple's C2 modem, eSIM-only configuration, and IP68 dust and water resistance are part of the package. Yet eSIM-only service turns carrier activation into a work constraint: the specification confirms the requirement, not how smoothly each carrier handles it. The available facts also do not establish repair turnaround if the device needs service.
Price sharpens the question. The iPhone Duo starts at 15,999 yuan, while geekpark lists the Xiaomi 18 Fold from 10,999 yuan, with a 5.38-inch outer display and a 7.58-inch inner display. That gap means the Duo's phone-first controls and saved work arrangements must justify more than extra screen area. They must save enough friction for a user who can activate eSIM reliably, tolerate the folded body's weight, and accept unresolved service downtime.
When the iPhone Duo's larger screen is likely to reduce friction
- You regularly need to reference one app while working in another. Consider the iPhone Duo: iOS 27 can run two apps side by side, open two windows from the same app, and support three simultaneous apps when picture-in-picture is included. The unfolded interface keeps Today View on the left while home-screen icons, the status bar, and the dock remain on the right.
- You want a device that remains phone-like when closed but expands for multitasking. The Duo is designed around a 5.4-inch external display and a 7.6-inch internal display, with the same aspect ratio across both screens. This is the strongest fit for people who will actually move between quick outer-screen tasks and larger inner-screen work.
- Your workflow depends on a physical SIM, Face ID, or a dedicated telephoto camera. Do not choose the Duo for that workflow. It supports only eSIM, uses Touch ID in the side button rather than Face ID, and has no dedicated telephoto camera; its 2x mode is cropped from the main camera.
- You expect handwriting or stylus work to be available immediately. Wait if Apple Pencil support is essential. Apple plans to add USB-C Apple Pencil support on both displays later in 2026, rather than including it at launch.
- You mainly want the best possible camera flexibility at a lower entry price. The Duo is a poor value-oriented choice on the cited specifications. It starts at 15,999 yuan in China, while the iPhone 18 Pro starts at 9,999 yuan and the iPhone 18 Pro Max at 10,999 yuan; the Pro series includes 48-megapixel ultra-wide and telephoto cameras.
China access determines which productivity promises travel
The Duo's basic multitasking case is separate from region-bound cloud services. According to geekpark, iOS 27 allows two apps side by side and can open two windows from the same app; ifanr similarly describes two simultaneous apps, with a third element possible through picture-in-picture. Those are interface capabilities, not a stated promise that every Apple service will travel with the device.
China makes that distinction practical. sspai says Apple Reference Image relies on Private Cloud Compute for tamper-proof sensor-pixel photo signatures, and that the standard is unavailable in mainland China as well as the European Union. A Duo owner can therefore not assume that a productivity or image-related feature described within Apple's wider AI story is usable merely because the handset folds open. The documented restriction applies specifically to Apple Reference Image, rather than establishing the status of every Apple Intelligence feature, but it shows why Apple Intelligence access must be checked service by service before the Duo becomes a primary work device.
The carrier question needs the same scrutiny. ifanr reports that the Duo uses Apple's C2 modem and supports only eSIM. Before moving work to the device, users need to confirm that their existing carrier setup can migrate to eSIM and that the required regional services are available.
Split-screen can still matter without those services. But its value is narrower when the apps, account features, or cloud processing a task depends on cannot operate in the user's region.
Before choosing a larger device for camera-heavy work, compare the 6.3-inch iPhone 18 Pro with the 6.9-inch iPhone 18 Pro Max against the screens you already use for review and editing. According to sspai, both offer 48-megapixel Fusion ultra-wide and telephoto cameras, plus up to 40x digital zoom. Start with the work that forces you to inspect an image closely, rather than assuming more display area changes that task.
Check regional feature availability before treating image provenance as part of the workflow. Apple Reference Image uses Private Cloud Compute for sensor-pixel-level photo signatures, but is unavailable in the European Union and mainland China. Price the constraint too: the 256GB iPhone 18 Pro begins at 9,999 yuan, while the Pro Max begins at 10,999 yuan.
For readers outside China
- Availability: China availability is specified: pre-orders open on October 16 and sales begin on October 23. A U.S. version is also identified, starting at $1,999. The source material does not cover availability in other markets, carrier compatibility, or which carriers support the Duo's eSIM-only design.
- Pricing: The iPhone Duo starts at 15,999 yuan in China for the 12GB+256GB version. The 12GB+2TB version costs 26,499 yuan. The U.S. version starts at $1,999.
- Closest Western equivalents: The source material does not identify Western equivalents.; Functionally, it is positioned as a foldable smartphone with a phone-sized outer display, a larger inner display, and iOS 27 split-screen multitasking; direct comparisons to specific Western products are not disclosed in sources.
- Data residency: The source material does not state where iPhone Duo data is processed or stored, and does not describe regional AI availability for the Duo. It says Apple Reference Image uses Private Cloud Compute on the iPhone 18 Pro and is unavailable in the European Union and mainland China, but it does not establish that this feature is available on iPhone Duo.
Sources
- ifanr iPhone Duo 首发上手:唯一值两万元的折叠屏 https://ifanr.com/1679531
- woshipm 苹果迟到6年的折叠屏,打了所有"创新焦虑者"的脸:产品创新的边界到底在哪里? https://woshipm.com/it/6462554.html
- ifanr 就在明天!苹果折叠掀起史上最强新机发布潮 https://ifanr.com/1679021
- geekpark 苹果第一台折叠 iPhone,15999 元起 https://geekpark.net/news/370088
- 36kr 苹果新CEO上任第一枪:15999元起的折叠屏,要把高端市场吃干抹净 https://36kr.com/p/3977379721818626
- sspai 可以「折」的 iPhone 正式亮相:Apple 发布会看点回顾 https://sspai.com/post/114392
The evidence: 75 facts from 6 Chinese articles
Each line below was extracted from the article it sits under, in Chinese, before any of this was written. The writing is done from these and never from the source prose - that separation is structural, not a promise. How we work.
36kr苹果新CEO上任第一枪:15999元起的折叠屏,要把高端市场吃干抹净
- Tim Cook stepped down as Apple CEO at the end of August.
- John Ternus became Apple's CEO after Tim Cook stepped down.
- Apple held an iPhone launch event in the early hours of September 10.
- Apple launched the iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone 18 Pro Max, and foldable iPhone Duo at its autumn launch event.
- The iPhone Duo starts at 15,999 yuan.
- The standard iPhone 18 has been delayed until spring 2027.
- Huawei launched the HUAWEI Mate XT 2 three days before Apple's launch event.
- Xiaomi launched the Xiaomi 18 Fold on the same day that Huawei launched the HUAWEI Mate XT 2.
- The iPhone Duo has a 7.6-inch internal display when unfolded and a 5.4-inch external display.
- The iPhone Duo's internal display is 50% larger than the iPhone 18 Pro Max display.
- Both the internal and external displays of the iPhone Duo have a 120Hz refresh rate.
- The unfolded iPhone Duo is 5.2mm thick.
- The iPhone Duo uses a 48-megapixel main camera and ultra-wide dual-camera system, has no periscope telephoto lens, and has a 12-megapixel under-display front camera.
- The iPhone Duo uses Touch ID integrated into its side button and supports only eSIM.
- The iPhone Duo is powered by the A20 Pro processor and C2 modem chip.
- Apple plans to enable Apple Pencil support for the iPhone Duo later this year.
- Counterpoint data puts foldable-phone shipments at about 1.6% of total global smartphone shipments in 2025.
- The iPhone 18 Pro starts at 9,999 yuan, while the iPhone 18 Pro Max starts at 10,999 yuan.
geekpark苹果第一台折叠 iPhone,15999 元起
- Apple introduced its first foldable smartphone, named iPhone Duo.
- The Chinese version of iPhone Duo starts at 15,999 yuan, with preorders opening at 8 p.m. on October 16 and sales starting on October 23.
- iPhone Duo has a 5.36-inch outer display and a 7.58-inch inner display under Apple's standard-rectangle measurement method.
- Xiaomi 18 Fold has a 5.38-inch outer display, a 7.58-inch inner display, and a starting price of 10,999 yuan.
- Both iPhone Duo displays support adaptive refresh rates and always-on display, and both have a peak brightness of 3,000 nits.
- iPhone Duo has a 12-megapixel outer-display front camera and an under-display front camera on its inner display.
- iPhone Duo has a 48-megapixel f/1.6 main camera and a 48-megapixel f/2.2 ultra-wide camera that also supports macro photography.
- iPhone Duo supports video recording at up to 4K and 120 fps with Dolby Vision.
- iPhone Duo uses the A20 Pro chip, the same chip used in the iPhone 18 Pro.
- iPhone Duo is 11.3 mm thick when folded and weighs 254 g.
- iPhone Duo uses Touch ID in its side button and can also be unlocked with an Apple Watch.
- iPhone Duo does not support Face ID and has no dedicated telephoto camera.
- iPhone Duo offers 0.5x, 1x, and 2x optical zoom options, with its 2x mode cropped from the main camera.
- Apple plans to add support for the USB-C Apple Pencil on both iPhone Duo displays later this year.
- iOS 27 adds iPhone split-screen multitasking, allowing two apps to run side by side and two windows of the same app to be opened.
- iPhone Duo is available in Starlight White and Midnight Blue, with storage options from 256GB to 2TB; the 2TB model costs 26,499 yuan.
- The U.S. version of iPhone Duo starts at $1,999.
ifanr就在明天!苹果折叠掀起史上最强新机发布潮
- Apple's annual fall launch event is scheduled to begin at 1 a.m. Beijing time on September 10.
ifanriPhone Duo 首发上手:唯一值两万元的折叠屏
- Apple introduced the iPhone Duo, a foldable smartphone, in 2026.
- The iPhone Duo is available in Starlight White and Midnight Blue.
- The iPhone Duo has a 5.4-inch external display and a 7.6-inch internal display.
- The iPhone Duo's internal display uses nano-texture glass from the Studio Display XDR and custom optical adhesive that permits limited sliding between OLED display layers.
- The iPhone Duo's internal and external displays support 1-120Hz ProMotion, always-on display, and 3000-nit peak brightness.
- The iPhone Duo has a concealed under-display internal camera with an f/1.8 aperture and video recording up to 1080p at 60 fps.
- The iPhone Duo will add support for a USB-C Apple Pencil later in 2026, on both its internal and external displays.
- The iPhone Duo's 7.6-inch internal display has a resolution of 2670x1878, an effective pixel density of 430 PPI, and an approximately 1:1.42 aspect ratio.
- The D-shaped 5.4-inch external display has a resolution of 1398x2034 and an effective pixel density of about 460 PPI.
- The iPhone Duo's external display uses second-generation Ceramic Shield glass and an anti-reflective coating, while its back panel uses first-generation Ceramic Shield glass.
- On the unfolded iPhone Duo, iOS 27 places the widget-based Today View on the left half of the internal display, while home-screen icons, the status bar, and the dock remain on the right side.
- The iPhone Duo can open two apps simultaneously, or three when picture-in-picture is included.
- The iPhone Duo can activate full StandBy mode when it is folded into a tent shape and placed upside down on a table.
- The iPhone Duo uses a full 6+7-core A20 Pro processor and connects its SoC directly to a VC vapor chamber through packaging.
- The iPhone Duo has a 48-megapixel 26mm f/1.6 main camera with lossless 2x zoom and up to 10x magnification, plus a 48-megapixel 13mm f/2.2 ultra-wide camera.
- The iPhone Duo places its speakers at diagonally opposite corners of the device to provide left-right stereo sound in any orientation.
- The iPhone Duo uses Apple's C2 modem, supports only eSIM, and has an IP68 dust and water resistance rating.
- The iPhone Duo starts at 15,999 yuan in China for the 12GB+256GB version, while the 12GB+2TB version costs 26,499 yuan.
- The iPhone Duo will accept pre-orders from October 16 and go on sale on October 23.
sspai可以「折」的 iPhone 正式亮相:Apple 发布会看点回顾
- Apple held a new-product launch event in the early hours of September 10.
- Apple introduced the iPhone 18 Pro series, Apple Watch Series 12, Apple Watch Ultra 4, and the AirPods 5 series at the event.
- Apple introduced iPhone Duo as its first foldable iPhone.
- The A20 Pro chip uses a 2nm architecture and has a 6-core CPU with 2 super cores and 4 efficiency cores.
- The A20 Pro has a total 32-core NPU, including an additional neural engine.
- The iPhone 18 Pro series uses A20 Pro chips and a new vapor-chamber design, and its vapor-chamber area is twice that of the iPhone 17 Pro series.
- For eSIM-only models, iPhone 18 Pro offers up to 36 hours of video playback and iPhone 18 Pro Max offers up to 45 hours.
- The iPhone 18 Pro has a 48-megapixel Fusion main camera with variable apertures of f/1.48, f/1.8, f/2.8, and f/4.0.
- The iPhone 18 Pro series has 48-megapixel Fusion ultra-wide and telephoto cameras and supports up to 40x digital zoom.
- The Apple Reference Image standard uses Private Cloud Compute to provide tamper-proof signatures for photos at the sensor-pixel level, and it is unavailable in the European Union and mainland China.
- The iPhone 18 Pro has a 6.3-inch Super Retina XDR display, while the iPhone 18 Pro Max has a 6.9-inch Super Retina XDR display.
- The iPhone 18 Pro series is available in black, silver, glacier blue, and burgundy red, with pre-orders beginning at 8 p.m. on September 12 and sales beginning on September 18.
- The iPhone 18 Pro starts at 9,999 yuan for 256GB, and the iPhone 18 Pro Max starts at 10,999 yuan for 256GB.
- AirPods 5 makes active noise cancellation standard on open-fit AirPods.
- The standard AirPods 5 costs 999 yuan, while AirPods 5 with a wireless charging case costs 1,149 yuan; both go on sale on September 18.
woshipm苹果迟到6年的折叠屏,打了所有”创新焦虑者”的脸:产品创新的边界到底在哪里?
- Apple launched the foldable iPhone Duo at its autumn event in the early hours of September 10 Beijing time.
- The iPhone Duo has a 5.4-inch external display when closed and a 7.6-inch internal display when unfolded.
- The iPhone Duo uses the same aspect ratio for its internal and external displays.
- The iPhone Duo features a nano-texture screen, a precision hinge, a dual-battery architecture, a custom vapor chamber, and full iOS 27 support for split-screen, hover mode, and multitasking.
- The iPhone Duo starts at 15,999 yuan in China, while the top 2TB version costs 26,499 yuan.