
Apple Intelligence is starting to look less like a single feature set and more like a quota system attached to Apple's services. ifanr found that the Apple Intelligence page in the Home app in iOS 27 beta 5 shows AI usage limits tied to iCloud+ plans, with the 2TB plan supporting AI summaries for 5 cameras and the 12TB plan supporting 15 cameras. The same page includes an upgrade option saying that more iCloud+ can mean more Apple Intelligence usage.
That matters because Apple has already framed this as policy, not a one-off screen. At WWDC in June, Apple said some server-model features, including image generation, would have daily usage limits, and that upgrading iCloud+ could raise those limits. The practical question shifts. Apple Intelligence is becoming a workflow gatekeeper: what runs, how often it runs, and which paid tier decides the ceiling.
The free feature is becoming a metered service
Apple Intelligence starts to look different when the meter is attached to iCloud+. According to ifanr, the Apple Intelligence page inside the Home app in iOS 27 beta 5 shows usage limits tied to paid iCloud+ plans, with an upgrade option that says a higher plan can provide more Apple Intelligence usage. That is a concrete shift from AI as a bundled operating-system capability to AI as an allocation users can exhaust.
- WWDC2024Apple Intelligence debuts across iPhone, iPad, Mac and other terminals
- early 2025Apple contacts domestic AI vendors before choosing Alibaba and Baidu
- JuneApple says server-model AI features will have daily usage limits
- July 14Apple releases public betas of iOS 27, iPadOS 27, macOS 27 and watchOS 27
- July 15China announces Apple Intelligence mobile-side generative AI filing
- July 28Apple launches Apple Upgrade device service in the United States
The clearest example is Home camera summaries.
In the iOS 27 beta 5 test version, ifanr found that the 2TB iCloud+ plan supports AI summaries for 5 cameras, while the 12TB plan supports AI summaries for 15 cameras. Sspai also reported that Apple Intelligence for Home requires an iCloud+ subscription starting at 2TB. The feature is still presented inside Apple's own apps and devices, but access depends on the storage tier attached to the account.
Apple has already prepared users for this model. At WWDC in June, the company said some Apple Intelligence features that rely on server models, including image generation, would have daily usage limits. It also said that upgrading an iCloud+ plan can provide higher Apple Intelligence usage limits. The current iCloud+ ladder includes 50GB, 200GB, 2TB, 6TB and 12TB, which gives Apple a familiar billing structure to map onto AI demand.
That matters because workflow features do not fail like decorative features. If camera summaries become part of checking a home, a shop, or a small office, the quota becomes part of the workflow design. Tim Cook said on an earnings call last month that some users may use Apple Intelligence heavily and could use iCloud+ to buy up the stack. Bloomberg's Mark Gurman previously reported in 2024 that Apple might launch Apple Intelligence+, keeping basic AI features free while putting more capabilities behind a premium subscription.
The same feature stack will not be the same in China
China is the cleanest example of why Apple Intelligence cannot be treated as one global feature stack. According to ifanr, Apple Intelligence completed China's mobile-side generative AI service filing in July. woshipm pins the public regulatory milestone to July 15, when the Cyberspace Administration of China announced the filing for mobile-side generative AI services.
That filing does not mean every user-facing AI tool is ready on Chinese devices. sspai notes that Safari in iOS 27 has an AI feature for generating browser extensions from built-in templates or natural-language input, but the feature is unavailable in mainland China. The same outlet says that in China, the Siri App position in the center of the Dynamic app grid is replaced by Fitness Training because Siri AI is not yet available domestically.
Regulatory readiness and product availability are separate gates.
The deeper split is model routing. woshipm says Apple Intelligence debuted at WWDC2024 across iPhone, iPad, Mac, and other terminals, using a hybrid architecture that combines on-device small models with cloud-based large models. Overseas, that cloud side can integrate ChatGPT and Gemini. In China, woshipm states, those services cannot be used, and Alibaba and Baidu confirmed that China-version Apple Intelligence functions are handled by Qwen and ERNIE.
That makes China-region Apple Intelligence a different workflow dependency, not a localized label on the same system. woshipm cites reports saying Alibaba and Baidu have a clear division of labor, with Qwen leading and handling about 65% of tasks while Baidu ERNIE assists with the remaining 35%. The same author says Apple contacted domestic vendors including Baidu, DeepSeek, and ByteDance in early 2025 before finalizing the Alibaba and Baidu combination, after talks that involved model adaptation and compliance requirements.
For practitioners, the result is practical. A Safari automation, Siri handoff, or cloud-assisted writing path may behave differently depending on region, model partner, and domestic compliance status.
Workflow features now sit across Safari, Shortcuts, Siri and Spotlight
The safest first step is not an all-purpose chat session. It is a monitored webpage, a cleaner search box, or a Shortcut that branches correctly. In iOS 27, Safari can watch a page after the user chooses "Notify Me" from the address bar menu, then sets keywords, frequency, and time, according to sspai. On macOS 27, Safari adds a similar Apple Intelligence-based Notify Me feature that checks a page against a user-defined condition and sends a notification when it matches.
That is workflow AI with a low blast radius.
Safari also starts organizing the mess around the work. In iOS 27, it can classify and group tabs by content after the user enables "Automatically Create Topics" under "Organise Tabs," sspai reports. Shortcuts gets more practical too: iOS 27 adds Else if logic, plus automation triggers for screenshots, keyboard connection, and notifications. These are small controls, but they matter because they turn AI from a prompt box into a system action.
Search is the other obvious entry point. Sspai says Apple rebuilt the underlying search system in iOS 27 and put Spotlight, Mail, and Photos on the same engine. On macOS 27, Siri AI is integrated into Spotlight Search, where users can open a Siri AI dialog box and interact by text or voice. Woshipm lists the broader Apple Intelligence functions around proofreading, Genmoji, Image Playground, natural-language search, and cross-app linkage.
The catch is that the useful layer is also gated. Woshipm says this year's WWDC update introduced Siri AI, with personal context understanding, app operations, screen reading, image understanding, and knowledge Q&A. But in iOS 27, sspai says Siri AI is limited to iPhone 15 Pro and later models, and users must apply in Settings to join a queue.

Apple's architecture explains why the boundary keeps moving. Ifanr says many Apple Intelligence tasks can run on-device across iPhone, iPad, and Mac. For tasks the device cannot handle locally, Apple uses Private Cloud Compute. The first workflows to try are therefore the ones that survive delay: page alerts, tab grouping, search, and simple Shortcuts automations.
Hardware decides which workflows survive an upgrade
The practical cutoff for Apple Intelligence starts with the phone. According to sspai, Siri AI in iOS 27 is currently limited to iPhone 15 Pro and later models, and users must apply in Settings to join a queue before using it. That makes the handset a gate for workflows that appear, on paper, to live across the system. If a team's capture, scheduling, or dictation routine depends on the new Siri layer, an older iPhone is not a weak endpoint. It is outside the workflow.
The watch adds a second cutoff.
Siri AI appears on Apple Watch for the first time in watchOS 27 as an extension of iOS 27, sspai reports. The same version adds a standalone Siri AI app that lets a user begin a question on iPhone and continue the conversation on Apple Watch. Workout Buddy can also run during workouts without an iPhone nearby and give real-time voice encouragement. But watchOS 27 only supports Series 9, Series 10, Series 11, Ultra 2, Ultra 3, and Apple Watch SE 3. There is also an operational risk: after a watchOS update, users cannot downgrade by themselves, and update problems require Apple's official after-sales service.
Mac cutoffs are even more structural. Apple said at WWDC25 that macOS 26 would be the last major version to support Intel Macs, and sspai says macOS 27 Golden Gate drops Intel processor architecture entirely. Support moves to Apple Silicon Macs: MacBook Air and MacBook Pro models from 2020 and later, iMac from 2021 and later, Mac mini from 2020 and later, Mac Studio from 2022 and later, Mac Pro from 2023 and later, plus MacBook Neo from 2026.
The audit should include software, not only machines. Apple's WWDC25 timetable said macOS 27 would be the last major version with full support for all Rosetta 2 functions, while macOS 28 keeps only compatibility functions for Intel-architecture games. macOS 27 can show which apps still run through Rosetta 2 via notifications or Settings, General, About This Mac.
Cross-device features carry their own conditions. iPhone Mirroring's adjustable aspect ratio mainly covers native apps in iOS 27, while third-party apps still need developer adaptation. Sidecar in macOS 27 lets an iPad operate macOS apps with taps and swipes, but the iPad must run iPadOS 27, and both devices must share the same Wi-Fi network.
Apple AI workflow layer: availability and constraints across products, regions, compute, and payment
| iOS 27 / iPadOS 27 | macOS 27 Golden Gate | watchOS 27 | Home / iCloud+ | China-version Apple Intelligence | Apple Upgrade | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Workflow entry points | Pulling down from the top activates Siri AI; Safari can classify and group tabs using Apple Intelligence; Shortcuts supports Else if logic and new automation triggers for screenshots, connecting to a keyboard, and notifications. | Siri AI is integrated into Spotlight Search; Safari adds Notify Me to regularly check a webpage for a user-defined condition and send a notification. | A standalone Siri AI app lets users start a question on iPhone and continue the conversation on Apple Watch; Smart Stack can proactively move likely-needed widgets forward. | The Home app in iOS 27 beta 5 added an Apple Intelligence page for AI usage limits tied to iCloud+ plans. | Functions include text proofreading, image creation with Genmoji and Image Playground, natural-language search, and cross-app linkage; Siri AI covers personal context understanding, app operations, screen content reading, image understanding, and knowledge Q&A. | Covers four core consumer device lines: iPhone, Apple Watch, Mac, and iPad. |
| Device / hardware constraint | Siri AI in iOS 27 is currently limited to iPhone 15 Pro and later models, and users need to apply to join a queue in Settings before using it. | No longer supports the Intel processor architecture and limits hardware support to Apple Silicon Macs; supports MacBook Air and MacBook Pro models with Apple chips from 2020 and later, iMac models with Apple chips from 2021 and later, Mac Studio models with Apple chips from 2022 and later, Mac Pro models with Apple chips from 2023 and later, and MacBook Neo from 2026. | Compatible only with Series 9, Series 10, Series 11, Ultra 2, Ultra 3, and Apple Watch SE 3. | Apple Intelligence for Home requires an iCloud+ subscription starting at 2TB. | Supports Apple's iPhone, iPad, Mac, and other terminals. | Device access is structured as leasing rather than ownership by default; users can return, buy out, or switch to a new-generation Apple product after the lease expires. |
| Compute architecture | Apple has emphasized that many Apple Intelligence tasks can run on-device on iPhone, iPad and Mac; tasks devices cannot handle locally use Private Cloud Compute. | Apple has emphasized that many Apple Intelligence tasks can run on-device on iPhone, iPad and Mac; tasks devices cannot handle locally use Private Cloud Compute. | Siri AI appears on Apple Watch as an extension of iOS 27; Workout Buddy can be used during workouts without an iPhone nearby. | Apple confirmed that some Apple Intelligence features relying on server models, including image generation, would have daily usage limits. | Uses a hybrid architecture combining on-device small models with cloud-based large models. | Not covered. |
| Region / partner constraint | Safari includes an AI feature for generating browser extensions from built-in templates or natural-language input, but the feature is unavailable in mainland China. | Not covered. | In China, the Siri App originally located in the center of the Dynamic app grid is replaced by Fitness Training because Siri AI is not yet available domestically. | Not covered. | Completed China's mobile-side generative AI service filing in July; the overseas version integrates ChatGPT and Gemini, which cannot be used in China; Alibaba and Baidu confirmed that China-version functions are handled by Qwen and ERNIE. | Currently limited to the United States; next likely expansion destination is Europe. |
| Subscription / payment tier | Not disclosed in sources. | Not disclosed in sources. | Not disclosed in sources. | Current iCloud+ plan tiers include 50GB, 200GB, 2TB, 6TB and 12TB; upgrading iCloud+ can provide more Apple Intelligence usage. | Not disclosed in sources. | Offers iPhone and Apple Watch rental periods of 12 months and 24 months; minimum monthly rent is $17.99, equated by the source to about 120 yuan. |
| Usage limits and quotas | Not covered. | Not covered. | Not covered. | In iOS 27 beta 5, the 2TB iCloud+ plan supports AI summaries for 5 cameras and the 12TB iCloud+ plan supports AI summaries for 15 cameras; the 2TB iCloud+ plan already supports connecting an unlimited number of HomeKit Secure Video cameras; HomeKit Secure Video surveillance recordings do not count against iCloud storage space. | Reports said Qwen leads and handles about 65% of tasks while Baidu ERNIE assists with the remaining 35%. | Not covered. |
| Portability / continuity | Rebuilt search unifies Spotlight, Mail, and Photos under the same search engine. | iPhone Mirroring adds adjustable aspect ratio support; Sidecar lets a connected iPad operate macOS apps directly through taps and swipes when the iPad runs iPadOS 27 and the Mac and iPad are on the same Wi-Fi network. | Standalone Siri AI app supports continuing a conversation from iPhone on Apple Watch; Find My integrates Find Devices, Find People, and Find Items into a redesigned app. | Home app AI summaries are tied to iCloud+ plan limits rather than only camera count or storage space. | Tang Chen argues Siri remains the only system-level entrance into Apple's ecosystem, while Alibaba and Baidu act as engine suppliers adapting Apple Intelligence to local conditions. | Users can return the old device and directly switch to a new-generation Apple product after the lease expires. |
How to decide which parts of Apple's AI workflow layer to rely on
- You need system-level AI across writing, image creation, search, app actions, and personal context. Treat Apple Intelligence as a platform workflow layer rather than a single chatbot: the sources describe text proofreading, Genmoji and Image Playground, natural-language search, cross-app linkage, Siri AI, Spotlight integration on macOS 27, and Safari monitoring features. But confirm device and regional eligibility first, because Siri AI in iOS 27 is currently limited to iPhone 15 Pro and later models and requires users to apply to join a queue in Settings before using it.
- You manage smart-home cameras and want AI summaries. Budget for iCloud+ before assuming the feature is included. Apple Intelligence for Home requires an iCloud+ subscription starting at 2TB; in the iOS 27 beta 5 test version, the 2TB iCloud+ plan supports AI summaries for 5 cameras, while the 12TB iCloud+ plan supports AI summaries for 15 cameras. This is separate from HomeKit Secure Video storage, where the 2TB iCloud+ plan already supports connecting an unlimited number of cameras and surveillance recordings do not count against iCloud storage space.
- Your workflow depends on heavy cloud AI usage such as image generation or other server-model tasks. Assume usage ceilings can matter. Apple confirmed at WWDC in June that some Apple Intelligence features relying on server models, including image generation, would have daily usage limits, and said that upgrading an iCloud+ plan can provide higher Apple Intelligence usage limits. Tim Cook also said some users may use Apple Intelligence heavily and could use iCloud+ to "buy up the stack" if they need more usage.
- You work in mainland China or ship workflows to users there. Do not assume feature parity with the overseas version. Apple Intelligence completed China's mobile-side generative AI service filing in July, and the China-version functions are handled by Qwen and ERNIE rather than the overseas integrations with ChatGPT and Gemini, which cannot be used in China. Safari's AI feature for generating browser extensions from built-in templates or natural-language input is also unavailable in mainland China.
- Your team still depends on Intel Macs or Rosetta-based software. Do not plan macOS 27 Golden Gate as a neutral upgrade. macOS 27 Golden Gate no longer supports the Intel processor architecture and limits hardware support to Apple Silicon Macs. Apple's WWDC25 timetable said macOS 27 would be the last major version with full support for all Rosetta 2 functions, and that Rosetta 2 in macOS 28 would retain only functions for compatibility with Intel-architecture games.
- You want to test the public betas on production Apple Watches or Macs. Be conservative. Public beta versions of iOS 27, iPadOS 27, macOS 27 Golden Gate, and watchOS 27 were released in the early morning of July 14, but watchOS cannot be downgraded by users themselves after an update, and Apple Watch update problems require official after-sales service to resolve. For Mac users, macOS 27 Golden Gate supports only Apple Silicon Macs, with supported model cutoffs listed by Apple-chip generation and year in the sources.
Apple is wrapping AI and hardware in subscription logic
Apple's AI cost problem is starting to look less like an app-store upsell and more like a stack of recurring commitments. On the hardware side, woshipm says Apple officially launched Apple Upgrade in the United States on July 28, with Klarna handling credit and settlement support. The service covers iPhone, Apple Watch, Mac, and iPad, and it replaced the long-running iPhone Upgrade Program rather than sitting beside it.
That matters because professional AI use is tied to devices that age. Apple Upgrade offers iPhone and Apple Watch rental periods of 12 months and 24 months, with a minimum monthly rent of $17.99 for some devices. After the lease expires, users can return the device, buy it out, or hand it back and switch to a new-generation Apple product. The woshipm author argues that this is Apple pushing hardware as a service, turning one-time sales into stable monthly cash flow.
The device becomes part of the bill.
Chinese AI products show the software side of the same pattern. According to ifanr, Doubao began testing paid subscriptions in May and officially launched different service tiers in June. Its paid content mainly covers complex PPT, data analysis, and film-and-television production tasks. Qwen began charging professional users this week, with office assistant usage increasing by plan while AI video generation quota is sold separately.
For Apple Intelligence, that is the risk frame. A workflow layer that depends on eligible hardware, device replacement cycles, and metered AI capacity can stop feeling like a feature included with a purchase. It becomes a monthly operating cost. Practitioners will have to ask which tasks belong on a paid device plan, which belong inside an AI tier, and which should remain portable when a lease ends.
Treat device access as part of the workflow map, not a purchasing footnote. If Apple Upgrade is available only in the United States, as the woshipm author claims, teams outside that market should avoid assuming the same hardware refresh path. Watch Europe next, because woshipm names it as the likely expansion destination. Also watch rental terms: the same author argues that Apple's device-maker-plus-licensed-financial-institution model could reset expectations for rental businesses.
For shared fleets, ask what happens if Apple demand tightens supply. Cross-checked data cited by woshipm puts Apple at about 55%-65% of rental GMV, while one platform's recent orders put new Apple phones at 68.1% and Android devices at 0.2%.
For readers outside China
- Availability: The source material covers both overseas and China-specific availability. Apple Intelligence completed China's mobile-side generative AI service filing in July, and on July 15 the Cyberspace Administration of China announced the filing alongside other approved terminal manufacturers. The overseas version integrates ChatGPT and Gemini, but those cannot be used in China; the China-version Apple Intelligence functions are handled by Qwen and ERNIE. Siri AI in iOS 27 is currently limited to iPhone 15 Pro and later models and requires joining a queue in Settings. watchOS 27 is compatible only with Series 9, Series 10, Series 11, Ultra 2, Ultra 3, and Apple Watch SE 3. macOS 27 Golden Gate no longer supports Intel Macs and is limited to Apple Silicon Macs. Apple Upgrade, the device service, is described as currently limited to the United States; broader rollout is not disclosed in sources.
- Pricing: Current iCloud+ plan tiers include 50GB, 200GB, 2TB, 6TB and 12TB. Apple Intelligence for Home requires an iCloud+ subscription starting at 2TB. In iOS 27 beta 5, the 2TB iCloud+ plan supports AI summaries for 5 cameras and the 12TB iCloud+ plan supports AI summaries for 15 cameras. The sources do not disclose iCloud+ prices. Apple Upgrade has a minimum monthly rent of $17.99 for some devices, equated by the source to about 120 yuan. Other Apple Intelligence subscription pricing is not disclosed in sources.
- Closest Western equivalents: ChatGPT and Gemini as model integrations in the overseas version of Apple Intelligence; Qwen and ERNIE as China-version model partners for Apple Intelligence; HomeKit Secure Video as the existing Apple smart-home camera recording layer that Apple Intelligence for Home builds around; Spotlight, Safari, Shortcuts, and Siri as Apple's closest system-level workflow surfaces rather than standalone AI apps; Buy now, pay later and device leasing services, via Apple Upgrade's reliance on Klarna for credit and settlement support
- Data residency: Apple uses a hybrid architecture combining on-device small models with cloud-based large models. Apple has emphasized that many Apple Intelligence tasks can run on-device on iPhone, iPad and Mac, and uses Private Cloud Compute for tasks that devices cannot handle locally. In China, the sources say Apple Intelligence completed the mobile-side generative AI service filing and that China-version functions are handled by Qwen and ERNIE. The source material does not disclose detailed data residency, retention, or cross-border transfer rules.
Sources
- ifanr iOS 27 曝光苹果 AI 收费:想让 iPhone 更聪明?得加钱 https://ifanr.com/1674897
- sspai 具透 | watchOS 27 公测版一览:动态应用网格、Liquid Glass 微调...... https://sspai.com/post/112430
- woshipm 苹果"亲自"下场"收租",是"狼"来了,还是"狼来了"? https://woshipm.com/it/6437316.html
- sspai 具透 | macOS 27 首个公开测试版来了,这些是值得你关注的新特性 https://sspai.com/post/112375
- sspai 具透 | iOS 27 首个公开测试版来了,这些是值得你关注的新功能 https://sspai.com/post/112287
- woshipm 苹果AI入华,把"灵魂"交给阿里百度 https://woshipm.com/ai/6431992.html
The evidence: 94 facts from 6 Chinese articles
Each line below was extracted from the article it sits under, in Chinese, before any of this was written. The writing is done from these and never from the source prose - that separation is structural, not a promise. How we work.
ifanriOS 27 曝光苹果 AI 收费:想让 iPhone 更聪明?得加钱
- Apple Intelligence completed China's mobile-side generative AI service filing in July.
- Content creator Stephen Robles found that the Home app in iOS 27 beta 5 added an Apple Intelligence page.
- The Apple Intelligence page in the Home app in iOS 27 beta 5 shows AI usage limits tied to iCloud+ plans.
- In the iOS 27 beta 5 test version, the 2TB iCloud+ plan supports AI summaries for 5 cameras.
- In the iOS 27 beta 5 test version, the 12TB iCloud+ plan supports AI summaries for 15 cameras.
- The Apple Intelligence page in iOS 27 beta 5 includes an upgrade option saying that upgrading iCloud+ can provide more Apple Intelligence usage.
- The 2TB iCloud+ plan already supports connecting an unlimited number of HomeKit Secure Video cameras.
- HomeKit Secure Video surveillance recordings do not count against iCloud storage space.
- Apple confirmed at WWDC in June that some Apple Intelligence features relying on server models, including image generation, would have daily usage limits.
- Apple said at WWDC in June that upgrading an iCloud+ plan can provide higher Apple Intelligence usage limits.
- Current iCloud+ plan tiers include 50GB, 200GB, 2TB, 6TB and 12TB.
- Tim Cook said on an earnings call last month that some users may use Apple Intelligence capabilities heavily in the future and could use iCloud+ to "buy up the stack" if they need more usage.
- Apple has emphasized in recent years that many Apple Intelligence tasks can run on-device on iPhone, iPad and Mac.
- Apple uses Private Cloud Compute for Apple Intelligence tasks that devices cannot handle locally.
- Doubao began testing paid subscriptions in May and officially launched different service tiers in June.
- Doubao's paid content mainly includes complex PPT, data analysis and film-and-television production tasks.
- Qwen began charging professional users this week, with office assistant usage increasing by plan and AI video generation quota sold separately.
- A U.S. federal judge refused to pause proceedings over App Store external-link transaction commissions on the same day that the iOS 27 beta 5 AI plan details were discovered.
sspai具透 | iOS 27 首个公开测试版来了,这些是值得你关注的新功能
- Apple released public beta versions of iOS 27, iPadOS 27, macOS 27 Golden Gate, and watchOS 27 in the early morning of July 14.
- Apple added a system-wide transparency slider for Liquid Glass under Settings -> Appearance -> Liquid Glass in iOS 27.
- In iOS 27 and iPadOS 27, the edge outline lighting effect on app icons, the Dock, and widgets was removed, and the effect remains visible only on the lock screen clock.
- In iOS 27, pulling down from the top activates Siri AI, and notification animations now appear from the upper-left corner.
- The Now Playing widget on the iOS 27 lock screen can be manually hidden by swiping left, but it reappears when switching songs or replaying media.
- The iOS 27 Control Center status bar shows the cellular network type, such as 5G, even when Wi-Fi is connected.
- In iOS 27, AirPods settings received a redesigned page with secondary interfaces and icons for each setting option.
- In iOS 27, AirPods support custom EQ settings.
- Apple rebuilt the underlying search system in iOS 27 and unified Spotlight, Mail, and Photos under the same search engine.
- Safari in iOS 27 added a page content monitoring alert feature that lets users enter monitored keywords, frequency, and time after selecting "Notify Me" from the address bar menu.
- Safari in iOS 27 can automatically classify and group tabs by content using Apple Intelligence after the user enables "Automatically Create Topics" under "Organise Tabs."
- Safari in iOS 27 includes an AI feature for generating browser extensions from built-in templates or natural-language input, but the feature is unavailable in mainland China.
- Shortcuts in iOS 27 supports Else if logic.
- Shortcuts in iOS 27 added new automation triggers for screenshots, connecting to a keyboard, and notifications.
- iOS 27 added independent volume settings for ringtones, alarms, and reminders, and AirPods can separately set alert sound volume.
- iOS 27 added a recovery mode that can restore the iOS system without using another device.
- Siri AI in iOS 27 is currently limited to iPhone 15 Pro and later models, and users need to apply to join a queue in Settings before using it.
- Apple Intelligence for Home requires an iCloud+ subscription starting at 2TB.
sspai具透 | watchOS 27 公测版一览:动态应用网格、Liquid Glass 微调……
- Apple officially released the public beta versions of iOS 27, iPadOS 27, macOS 27 Golden Gate, and watchOS 27 in the early hours of July 14.
- Users can apply for the Apple Beta Software Program on Apple's official website to try the public beta of watchOS 27.
- watchOS cannot be downgraded by users themselves after an update, and Apple Watch update problems require official after-sales service to resolve.
- watchOS 26 first introduced the Liquid Glass design language on Apple Watch.
- watchOS 27 does not include the Liquid Glass adjustment slider that is available on iOS.
- watchOS 27 opens a new Dynamic app grid after the user presses the Digital Crown.
- The Dynamic app grid in watchOS 27 combines the app grid with Siri Suggestions and places frequently used apps and recommended content in more prominent positions.
- In China, the Siri App originally located in the center of the Dynamic app grid is replaced by Fitness Training because Siri AI is not yet available domestically.
- Smart Stack in watchOS 27 can proactively move widgets that are more likely to be needed toward the front based on time, location, and usage scenarios.
- Apple's examples of Smart Stack suggestions in watchOS 27 include birthday greetings for contacts, navigation to a parked vehicle, alarm adjustment suggestions before holidays, and pinning a transit card for quick balance checks.
- watchOS 27 adds a one-finger pinch gesture to Smart Stack for opening the currently selected Smart Stack widget.
- The one-finger pinch gesture in watchOS 27 can only select widgets already shown in Smart Stack and does not support other interfaces.
- watchOS 27 integrates the previous Find Devices, Find People, and Find Items apps on Apple Watch into a redesigned Find My app with a map background.
- The redesigned Find My app in watchOS 27 supports Precision Finding for locating devices including iPhone, second-generation AirTag, and AirPods Pro 3.
- Siri AI appears on Apple Watch for the first time in watchOS 27 as an extension of iOS 27.
- watchOS 27 adds a standalone Siri AI app that lets users start a question on iPhone and continue the conversation on Apple Watch.
- Workout Buddy in watchOS 27 can be used during workouts without an iPhone nearby and provides real-time voice encouragement.
- watchOS 27 is compatible only with Series 9, Series 10, Series 11, Ultra 2, Ultra 3, and Apple Watch SE 3.
sspai具透 | macOS 27 首个公开测试版来了,这些是值得你关注的新特性
- Apple released public betas for iOS 27, iPadOS 27, macOS 27 Golden Gate, watchOS 27, and other systems in the early hours of July 14.
- Users can apply for the Apple Beta Software Program on Apple's official website to try the macOS 27 Golden Gate public beta.
- Apple said at WWDC25 that macOS 26 would be the last major version to support Intel Macs.
- macOS 27 Golden Gate no longer supports the Intel processor architecture and limits hardware support to Apple Silicon Macs.
- macOS 27 Golden Gate supports MacBook Air models with Apple chips from 2020 and later.
- macOS 27 Golden Gate supports MacBook Pro models with Apple chips from 2020 and later.
- macOS 27 Golden Gate supports iMac models with Apple chips from 2021 and later.
- macOS 27 Golden Gate supports Mac mini models with Apple chips from 2020 and later, Mac Studio models with Apple chips from 2022 and later, Mac Pro models with Apple chips from 2023 and later, and MacBook Neo from 2026.
- Apple's WWDC25 timetable said macOS 27 would be the last major version with full support for all Rosetta 2 functions.
- Apple's WWDC25 timetable said Rosetta 2 in macOS 28 would retain only functions for compatibility with Intel-architecture games.
- macOS 27 lets users find software that still runs through Rosetta 2 by clicking related notifications or going to Settings, General, About This Mac.
- macOS 27 adds a slider in Settings, Appearance for adjusting the transparency of the Liquid Glass visual effect.
- macOS 27 changes sidebars from the floating sidebar design used in macOS 26 back to a design attached to the window edge like macOS Sequoia and earlier versions.
- macOS 27 restores coloring for sidebar icons so users can more easily identify whether a window is active.
- macOS 27 adds adjustable aspect ratio support to iPhone Mirroring, and macOS automatically switches to a supported ratio based on the window size.
- The adjustable aspect ratio feature in iPhone Mirroring is mainly for native apps in iOS 27, while third-party apps still require developer adaptation.
- Sidecar in macOS 27 lets a connected iPad operate macOS apps directly through taps and swipes, and the feature requires the iPad to run iPadOS 27 and the Mac and iPad to be on the same Wi-Fi network.
- macOS 27 integrates Siri AI into Spotlight Search, allowing users to open a new Siri AI dialog box from Spotlight and interact with it by text or voice.
- Safari in macOS 27 adds a Apple Intelligence-based feature called Notify Me that can regularly check a webpage for a user-defined condition and send a notification when the condition is met.
woshipm苹果AI入华,把“灵魂”交给阿里百度
- On July 15, the Cyberspace Administration of China announced that Apple Intelligence completed filing for mobile-side generative AI services.
- Huawei, OPPO, vivo, Xiaomi, Samsung, and ZTE's Nubia-Doubao consortium were in the same batch of approved terminal manufacturers as Apple Intelligence, with 7 terminal manufacturers approved in total.
- Apple Intelligence debuted at WWDC2024 and supports Apple's iPhone, iPad, Mac, and other terminals.
- Apple Intelligence uses a hybrid architecture combining on-device small models with cloud-based large models.
- Apple Intelligence supports functions including text proofreading, image creation with Genmoji and Image Playground, natural-language search, and cross-app linkage.
- At this year's WWDC, Apple Intelligence received an update called Siri AI.
- Siri AI's functions cover personal context understanding, app operations, screen content reading, image understanding, and knowledge Q&A.
- The overseas version of Apple Intelligence integrates ChatGPT and Gemini, which cannot be used in China.
- Alibaba and Baidu confirmed that the China-version Apple Intelligence functions are handled by Qwen and ERNIE.
- Around the time of the China-version Apple Intelligence filing, Apple sued OpenAI and two former employees who joined OpenAI after leaving Apple and led hardware product development.
- OpenAI responded that it takes the allegations seriously but has not found any evidence that Apple's complaint has a factual basis, and that it believes in fair competition and people's freedom to choose where they work.
woshipm苹果“亲自”下场”收租”,是“狼”来了,还是“狼来了”?
- Apple officially launched the Apple Upgrade device service in the United States on July 28.
- Apple Upgrade relies on Klarna, a Swedish fintech company that mainly provides buy now, pay later payment services, for credit and settlement support.
- Apple Upgrade covers four core consumer device lines: iPhone, Apple Watch, Mac, and iPad.
- Apple shut down the long-running iPhone Upgrade Program when launching Apple Upgrade.
- Apple Upgrade offers iPhone and Apple Watch rental periods of 12 months and 24 months.
- Apple Upgrade has a minimum monthly rent of $17.99 for some devices.
- The source equates Apple Upgrade's minimum monthly rent of $17.99 to about 120 yuan.
- Apple Upgrade lets users return the rented device and end the lease without paying for depreciation residual value after the lease expires.
- Apple Upgrade lets users pay the remaining amount to buy out the device and obtain ownership after the lease expires.
- Apple Upgrade lets users return the old device and directly switch to a new-generation Apple product after the lease expires.