EastofSilicon Tools and workflows from the Chinese internet
Hardware

Li Auto's MEGA Home conceals a shifting battery supply

9 min read 2,067 words 36krifanrsspai
Electric vehicle beside a battery pack and charging cable
An electric vehicle sits beside its battery pack and charging cable.Illustration: generated for this article

Li Auto MEGA Home pairs a single nationwide price of 509,800 yuan with a 108 kWh ternary-lithium 5C battery, dual-motor all-wheel drive, and 710 km of CLTC range. Yet reporting indicates that Li Auto distinguishes between batteries jointly developed with CATL and batteries it internally calls self-developed through Sunwoda. The polished, home-like version name can therefore conceal a supply arrangement that is more changeable than the brochure suggests.

Li Auto says its branded batteries are already fitted to the L8, L6, and i8. It also says the new-generation MEGA, i9, and 2026 i6 will progressively adopt them in the fourth quarter of this year, subject to product and delivery schedules. The useful question is no longer only which Li Auto model a buyer selects. It is which battery and hardware revision arrives in the delivered vehicle, and what that changes for charging access and everyday use.

One version, more than one hidden specification

The new Li Auto MEGA turns the buying menu into a single choice: MEGA Home. According to ifanr, it has a nationwide unified retail price of 509,800 yuan, a 108 kWh ternary-lithium 5C battery, dual-motor all-wheel drive, and 710 km of CLTC electric range. The showroom specification is therefore unusually tidy. A buyer is not asked to choose among battery sizes or powertrain variants.

Li Auto's battery-partnership and branded-battery sequence
  1. In April 2023Li Auto and CATL reach a comprehensive strategic cooperation agreement
  2. In September last yearLi Auto and CATL sign a five-year comprehensive strategic cooperation agreement
  3. September 2Li Auto officially launches the new-generation MEGA
  4. September 7Li Auto announces self-developed batteries will fully cover its lineup
  5. the fourth quarter of this yearMEGA, i9 and 2026 i6 progressively use Li Auto-branded batteries

That simplicity does not mean the battery story has stopped moving.

Li Auto has drawn a distinction between battery-development arrangements beneath its vehicle range. According to reporting, the CATL project is internally described as joint development, while cooperation with Sunwoda is described internally as self-developed batteries. Li Auto said on September 7 that its self-developed batteries would fully cover its lineup. It also said Li Auto-branded batteries are already installed in the L8, L6, and i8.

The MEGA Home is part of that transition rather than an exception to it. Reporting indicates that the new-generation MEGA will progressively use Li Auto-branded batteries in the fourth quarter of this year, subject to product and delivery schedules. The all-new i9 and the 2026 i6 are on the same schedule.

For the MEGA buyer, the published 108 kWh label describes capacity and battery type, not the full development or supply history behind the pack. A single retail version can thus conceal a changing hardware sourcing path. That matters because the vehicle name and price remain fixed while the battery program underneath is being expanded.

The i6 shows why model names are not enough

The rear-wheel-drive Li Auto i6 presents a clear buyer-facing specification: an 87.3 kWh battery, 720 km of CLTC range, and a claim that 500 km can be added in 10 minutes. sspai's author selected that version alongside a black exterior, 20-inch wheels, a white interior, a rear entertainment screen, and a streaming rearview mirror.

Those visible selections do not identify the battery cells underneath.

According to a report, the 2025 Li Auto i6 used CATL and Sunwoda as battery suppliers. The latest Ministry of Industry and Information Technology filing for the 2026 Li Auto i6 instead lists Shandong Li Auto Battery Co., Ltd. as the battery-assembly producer for two battery configurations, with cells from Sunwoda and CALB. The report says the i6 may be the first Li Auto model fitted with CALB products.

That distinction matters because the i6 name, rear-wheel-drive layout, and headline battery capacity do not by themselves establish a single supplier history. A customer can choose the exterior, wheel size, interior color, and display equipment described by sspai, while the battery sourcing can differ between the 2025 model and the two configurations recorded for 2026.

The charging result reported by sspai also describes one car rather than a universal ownership guarantee. Its author measured a charge from 5% to 80% at a Li Auto 5C supercharger in about 10 minutes, with peak power above 500 kW and average power around 380 kW. The same author reported more than 500 km of real-world range and said a displayed 525 km after a full charge was generally achievable.

For the i6, the model badge is only the start of the specification.

Li Auto i6 battery sourcing and buyer-visible configuration evidence

2025 Li Auto i62026 Li Auto i6Author's rear-wheel-drive Li Auto i6
Published cell manufacturersCATL and SunwodaSunwoda and CALBnot disclosed in sources
Battery-assembly producernot coveredShandong Li Auto Battery Co., Ltd.not disclosed in sources
Li Auto-branded battery statusnot coveredwill progressively use Li Auto-branded batteries in the fourth quarter of this year, depending on product and delivery schedulesnot disclosed in sources
Battery capacitynot coverednot covered87.3 kWh
Published CLTC rangenot coverednot covered720 km
Charging evidencenot coverednot covered5% to 80% at a Li Auto 5C supercharger in about 10 minutes; peak power above 500 kW and average power around 380 kW
Real-world range claimnot coverednot coveredmore than 500 km; displayed 525 km after a full charge is generally attainable
Purchase price evidencenot disclosed in sourcesnot disclosed in sourcesdiscounted vehicle price of 254,800 yuan; total on-road price of 273,363.89 yuan
Whether battery supplier is identified for an individual delivered carnot disclosed in sourcesnot disclosed in sourcesnot disclosed in sources

Charging access can outweigh the charging headline

Li Auto's fast-charging case rests on a large physical network. By the end of June, it had built 4,097 supercharging stations and 22,593 charging piles, according to ifanr. Piles rated for 4C and 5C charging made up 70% of that total. The MEGA Home's standard 108 kWh ternary-lithium 5C battery is designed for that kind of access, alongside dual-motor all-wheel drive and 710 km of CLTC electric range.

But a charging headline only matters where a driver can actually plug in.

The workplace constraint described by sspai shows the difference. Its author could not bring a Tesla into an underground garage, which also blocked access to the garage's inexpensive, convenient slow-charging stations. A vehicle's charging routine can therefore be shaped by parking rules before its maximum charging rate enters the calculation.

For the rear-wheel-drive i6, Li Auto lists an 87.3 kWh battery, 720 km of CLTC range, and the ability to add 500 km in 10 minutes. sspai's author measured a charge from 5% to 80% at a Li Auto 5C supercharger in about 10 minutes, with peak power above 500 kW and average power around 380 kW. Those are meaningful results, but they describe what happens at a compatible high-power station. Daily ownership may instead depend on access to the charger near work or home. The network can be extensive while a particular driver's most useful charging option remains unavailable.

Choose the delivered hardware, not just the advertised Li Auto

  • You are considering a 2026 Li Auto i6 and care about the battery's manufacturer or supply chain. Ask the retailer to identify the battery configuration assigned to the specific vehicle before delivery. Ministry filings list Sunwoda and CALB cell manufacturers for two 2026 i6 battery configurations, whereas the 2025 i6 used CATL and Sunwoda. The sources do not establish which battery a particular buyer will receive, or whether charging and range behavior differ between configurations.
  • Fast public charging is central to your ownership plan. Validate the charging claim on the infrastructure you will actually use. One rear-wheel-drive i6 owner measured a charge from 5% to 80% at a Li Auto 5C supercharger in about 10 minutes, with peak power above 500 kW and average power around 380 kW. Li Auto had 4,097 supercharging stations and 22,593 charging piles as of the end of June, but the source material does not say where those sites are located or whether they are accessible to every buyer.
  • You need a practical battery EV for a workplace or home charging routine. Check access restrictions before choosing a Tesla alternative. One shopper's workplace did not allow Tesla vehicles into its underground garage, which prevented use of inexpensive slow-charging stations there; that constraint helped make the i6 more workable. This is a site-specific consideration, not evidence of a general policy.
  • You are shopping for a comfort-oriented family EV rather than maximizing acceleration. The rear-wheel-drive i6 is the better fit if its standard comfort equipment matters more than outright performance: it has Nappa seats, 10-point front-seat massage, ventilation for four seats, heating for five seats, soft-closing doors, a HUD, and 20 speakers. Its single motor is rated at 250 kW and 425 Nm, with 0-100 km/h in 6.5 seconds.
  • You want Li Auto's most home-like, multi-row interior and are willing to pay for it. Consider the MEGA Home rather than treating the i6 as interchangeable with it. The new MEGA Home is priced at 509,800 yuan and includes four zero-gravity positions across the first two rows, heating and ventilation across all three rows, plus standard steer-by-wire and rear-wheel steering. The 270-degree electrically dimmable glass is optional and costs 15,000 yuan.

Ask for the delivered car's hardware record

Before delivery, ask for a written hardware record tied to the delivered car: its build or delivery batch, cell maker, battery-pack revision, and battery-assembly producer. Also request the applicable software version and the charging policy that governs the advertised charging curve.

The Ministry of Industry and Information Technology filing cited by the outlet identifies Shandong Li Auto Battery Co., Ltd. as pack assembler for battery configurations of the 2026 Li Auto i6, with Sunwoda and CALB named as cell manufacturers. That is a reason to document the car itself, rather than rely on its model name.

Ask the seller to confirm which of those records applies before signing. Keep the response with the order paperwork and delivery documents. sspai describes an order placed on May 2, a store arrival on May 18, and delivery on May 23; those separate dates show why a delivery-batch record can matter even after an order is placed.

Li Auto has said its new-generation MEGA, all-new i9, and 2026 i6 will progressively use Li Auto-branded batteries in the fourth quarter of this year, subject to product and delivery schedules, according to the outlet. Li Auto and Sunwoda also registered a joint venture with each party contributing 50%, while Li Auto invested 2.65 billion yuan in Sunwoda Power. Those relationships explain supplier relevance; they do not identify the hardware in one buyer's car.

Charging-network scale is not a substitute for this record. ifanr reports 4,097 supercharging stations and 22,593 charging piles at the end of June, with 4C and 5C piles comprising 70%.

Available evidence does not establish warranty differences, service treatment, resale consequences, or a buyer's right to choose a cell supplier. It also does not specify the delivered car's charging curve or future software changes. Get those answers in writing, or treat them as unknown.

Ask the dealer to put the delivered car's battery cell maker, pack revision, charging curve, software support policy, and expected delivery batch in writing. The advertised specification, according to ifanr, is a 108 kWh ternary-lithium 5C battery, dual-motor all-wheel drive, and 710 km of CLTC range; confirm that those details match the vehicle assigned to you.

Also price the hardware you will actually use. The 270-degree dimmable glass costs 15,000 yuan, while steer-by-wire, rear-wheel steering, air springs, CDC dampers, and the active anti-roll bar are standard. Check home and workplace charging access before treating cabin luxury as the deciding configuration difference.

For readers outside China

  • Availability: The source material documents Li Auto's China retail and charging footprint, but does not say that the i6 is sold outside China. Li Auto plans to introduce a right-hand-drive MEGA to Hong Kong, Macao, Singapore, and Thailand by the end of 2026. Availability in other markets is not disclosed in sources.
  • Pricing: A buyer's rear-wheel-drive i6 had a discounted vehicle price of 254,800 yuan. Their rear entertainment screen and streaming rearview mirror cost 10,000 yuan; insurance was 7,289.56 yuan, purchase tax was 11,274.33 yuan, and the reported total on-road price was 273,363.89 yuan. The new MEGA Home has a nationwide unified retail price of 509,800 yuan.
  • Closest Western equivalents: Tesla Model Y - a rear-wheel-drive Model Y was one of the final alternatives considered by an i6 buyer.
  • Data residency: The source material does not cover vehicle-data storage, cross-border data transfers, app availability, connected-service availability, or assisted-driving data handling.

Sources

The evidence: 68 facts from 4 Chinese articles

Each line below was extracted from the article it sits under, in Chinese, before any of this was written. The writing is done from these and never from the source prose - that separation is structural, not a promise. How we work.

36kr理想汽车引入第三家电池供应商,中创新航上车理想i6|36氪独家

  • The latest Ministry of Industry and Information Technology filing lists Shandong Li Auto Battery Co., Ltd. as the battery-assembly producer for two battery configurations of the 2026 Li Auto i6.
  • The cell manufacturers for the two battery configurations of the 2026 Li Auto i6 are Sunwoda and CALB.
  • The battery suppliers for the 2025 Li Auto i6 were CATL and Sunwoda.
  • The Li Auto i6 delivered more than 120,000 vehicles in the first half of this year and contributed more than 50% of Li Auto's sales.
  • In 2025, Leapmotor and CALB established a joint venture with shareholding proportions of 49:51.
  • Li Auto's battery project co-developed with CATL is internally called joint development, while its cooperation with Sunwoda is internally called self-developed batteries.
  • CATL was a core battery supplier when Li Auto launched its first vehicle, the Li Auto ONE.
  • In April 2023, Li Auto and CATL reached a comprehensive strategic cooperation agreement.
  • In September last year, Li Auto and CATL signed a five-year comprehensive strategic cooperation agreement.
  • In September last year, Li Auto and Sunwoda registered a joint venture in which each party contributed 50%.
  • Li Auto recently invested 2.65 billion yuan in Sunwoda Power, and Li Auto-related entities will become Sunwoda Power's second-largest shareholder after the transaction is completed.
  • On September 7, Li Auto announced that its self-developed batteries would fully cover its vehicle lineup.
  • Li Auto stated that Li Auto-branded batteries are already installed in the Li Auto L8, Li Auto L6, and Li Auto i8.
  • Li Auto stated that the new-generation Li Auto MEGA, the all-new Li Auto i9, and the 2026 Li Auto i6 will progressively use Li Auto-branded batteries in the fourth quarter of this year, depending on product and delivery schedules.

ifanr理想换了一种活法!理想 i9、新 MEGA 即将发布,李想:纯电销量已经追平增程

  • The new-generation Li Auto MEGA is scheduled to launch on September 2.
  • The new-generation Li Auto MEGA will include rear-wheel steering, steer-by-wire, and an active anti-roll bar.
  • Li Auto's self-developed Mahe M100 chip will be installed in the new-generation MEGA.
  • The new-generation MEGA retains a 155 kW front motor, while its rear motor increases from 245 kW to 258 kW.
  • The new-generation MEGA's combined dual-motor output increases from 400 kW to 413 kW.
  • Li Auto's battery-electric lineup includes the i6, i8 and MEGA, and the six-seat flagship SUV i9 is scheduled to join in mid-September.
  • Li Auto delivered 98,330 new vehicles in the second quarter, up 3.4% quarter on quarter.
  • Li Auto's second-quarter total revenue was 25.67 billion yuan, up 11.7% quarter on quarter.
  • Li Auto's second-quarter vehicle sales revenue was 24.07 billion yuan, up 11.8% quarter on quarter.
  • Li Auto's second-quarter gross margin recovered from 7.9% in the first quarter to 11.0%, while vehicle gross margin recovered from 6.1% to 9.4%.
  • Li Auto's second-quarter net loss was 1.71 billion yuan, 25.1% lower than its 2.28 billion yuan net loss in the first quarter.
  • In the first six months of the year, Li Auto delivered 193,500 vehicles, down 5.2% year on year, and generated total revenue of 48.65 billion yuan, down 13.3% year on year.
  • Li Auto's first-half gross margin fell from 20.2% in the prior-year period to 9.5%, and its vehicle gross margin fell from 19.6% to 7.8%.
  • Li Auto's first-half operating loss was 5.299 billion yuan and its net loss attributable to shareholders was 3.981 billion yuan.
  • Li Auto's second-quarter research and development expenses reached 2.78 billion yuan, and its first-half research and development expenses totaled nearly 5.5 billion yuan.
  • As of the end of June, Li Auto had built 4,097 supercharging stations and 22,593 charging piles, with 4C and 5C charging piles accounting for 70%.
  • Li Auto guided for third-quarter deliveries of 95,000 to 100,000 vehicles and total revenue of 26.6 billion yuan to 28 billion yuan.
  • As of the end of June, Li Auto had 87.5 billion yuan in cash reserves.
  • Li Auto's operating cash flow improved from a net outflow of 6.091 billion yuan in the first quarter to a net inflow of 15 million yuan in the second quarter.

ifanr50.98 万元!新理想 MEGA 发布:前两排零重力座椅,加入后轮转向,还要推出右舵版

  • The new-generation Li Auto MEGA was officially launched on September 2.
  • The new Li Auto MEGA is offered only in the MEGA Home version, with a nationwide unified retail price of 509,800 yuan.
  • The new MEGA Home costs 50,000 yuan less than the 2025 MEGA Home.
  • The new MEGA vehicles have arrived at retail centers nationwide and deliveries will begin within the week.
  • The new MEGA Home and the all-new Li Auto L9 Livis are both priced at 509,800 yuan.
  • The new MEGA has redesigned headlamp openings and air intakes, smaller air intakes, a UWB proximity-sensing system replacing ultrasonic-radar openings, and dark gray chrome trim.
  • The new MEGA has a larger rear window, sharper rear body lines, and newly added fully enclosed UFO wheel covers intended to reduce aerodynamic drag.
  • The second-row rotating zero-gravity seats have independent floating cushions, and each seat includes a headrest pillow, lumbar pillow, and leg pillow.
  • The headrest and leg pillows on the second-row rotating zero-gravity seats support heating.
  • Front-row dual zero-gravity seats are standard, allowing all four positions in the first two rows to enter a zero-gravity state.
  • The third-row seats add ventilation, giving all three rows both ventilation and heating.
  • The new MEGA provides heating in 31 locations across the vehicle, including the steering wheel, seats, headrests, leg rests, first-row door-panel armrests, center armrest, and both second-row seat armrests.
  • The Home Light consists of 396 LEDs forming a 3500K soft main light that runs longitudinally through the panoramic roof, while retaining a central starry ambient light.
  • The second-row suspended display supports 12 cm of electric horizontal movement and gesture control.
  • A 270-degree electrically dimmable glass option covers the second-row side windows, third-row side windows, and rear window, has a total area of 2.5 square meters, and costs 15,000 yuan.
  • The new MEGA comes standard with steer-by-wire and rear-wheel steering, reducing its minimum turning radius from 6.2 m to 5.5 m.
  • The new MEGA comes standard with dual-chamber air springs, dual-valve CDC dampers, and an 800V active anti-roll bar.
  • The MEGA Home comes standard with a 108 kWh ternary-lithium 5C battery and dual-motor all-wheel drive, with a CLTC electric range of 710 km.

sspai「正常」已是不易:聊聊不那么标新立异的理想 i6

  • The author bought a Li Auto i6 as their first car in May 2026, eight months after the model was launched.
  • The author set their car-buying budget at roughly 250,000 yuan, equivalent to one year of their take-home income.
  • The author test-drove the Xiaomi YU7, Zeekr 7X, Tesla Model Y, Zeekr 007GT, and Fangchengbao 5 while shopping for a car.
  • The author's final candidates were the Xiaomi YU7 Standard Edition, the rear-wheel-drive Tesla Model Y, and the Li Auto i6.
  • The author did not buy the Fangchengbao 5 because the HarmonyOS intelligent driving and DiSus version they wanted exceeded their budget by too much.
  • The author's workplace did not allow Tesla vehicles into its underground garage, preventing the author from using the garage's inexpensive and convenient slow-charging stations.
  • The Li Auto i6 has dimensions of 4950 x 1935 x 1655 mm and a 3000 mm wheelbase.
  • The rear-wheel-drive Li Auto i6 has an 87.3 kWh battery, a CLTC range of 720 km, and can add 500 km of range in 10 minutes.
  • The rear-wheel-drive Li Auto i6 has a 250 kW, 425 Nm single motor and a 0-100 km/h acceleration time of 6.5 seconds.
  • The Li Auto i6 uses a front double-wishbone suspension, a rear five-link suspension, CDC sports suspension, and dual-chamber air suspension.
  • The Li Auto i6 comes standard with Nappa seats, 10-point front-seat massage, ventilation for four seats, heating for five seats, electric soft-closing doors, a HUD, and 20 speakers.
  • The Li Auto i6 uses an NVIDIA DRIVE Thor-U assisted-driving chip rated at 700 TOPS and a Qualcomm Snapdragon 8295P infotainment chip.
  • The author chose a rear-wheel-drive Li Auto i6 with a black exterior, 20-inch wheels, a white interior, a rear entertainment screen, and a streaming rearview mirror.
  • The rear entertainment screen and streaming rearview mirror options cost the author 10,000 yuan.
  • The author's Li Auto i6 had a discounted vehicle price of 254,800 yuan, insurance cost of 7,289.56 yuan, purchase tax of 11,274.33 yuan, and total on-road price of 273,363.89 yuan.
  • The author placed the order on May 2, the vehicle arrived at the store on May 18, and the author took delivery on May 23.
  • The author measured charging from 5% to 80% at a Li Auto 5C supercharger in about 10 minutes, with peak power above 500 kW and average power around 380 kW.